Coldbreak Brewing HERMS Giveaway!

HomeBrewSupply AMCYL Brew Kettle Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > Yeast Starter
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-16-2012, 02:32 AM   #1
JohnnysBarIsIt
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Hudson, MA
Posts: 19
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Yeast Starter

I've heard that makeing a yeast starter is a good thing to do. but i was wondering do i need to make one useing a stir plate ar there other ways? And is there such a thing as haveing to much yeast cells in the wort?


__________________
Thanks to denial, I'm immortal.
JohnnysBarIsIt is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 02:49 AM   #2
two_one_seven
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Dublin, OH
Posts: 709
Liked 23 Times on 21 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

You do not need to use a stir plate. Search yeast starter and you will fine a ton of threads that explain the procedure.

No you can not add too many yeast cells.


two_one_seven is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 02:56 AM   #3
EdgeBrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 18
Default

Starters are a good idea, and really necessary for high gravity beers. Starters in flasks on a stir plate propagate the yeast faster. That being said making a starter and just hand stirring (picking it up and swirling it) the flask occasionally is much better than no starter at all. It is possible to over pitch but highly unlikely to do on a home brew scale. You would have to make one huge starter, so basically don't worry about it, under pitching and stressing the yeast is a much more common problem.
EdgeBrewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 02:58 AM   #4
maffewl
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Auburn, Alabama
Posts: 1,122
Liked 38 Times on 27 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

You don't have to use a stir plate. My first ones were done using 2 liter bottles. The nice thing about those is just leave the cap on loose and whenever you walk by it, just tighten the cap, shake, shake, shake, and loosen the cap. And repeat every time you walk by.
__________________
_

Digital Temperature Controller build:
Click Here

Bottle Cutter build:
Click Here
maffewl is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 07:34 AM   #5
diS
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Croatia
Posts: 1,018
Liked 48 Times on 45 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default

Stirplate is nice thing but not necessary.
It will help oxygenate wort and increase cells multiplying, without it cells will still multiply but not that much.
I"ve read that some folks use plastic bottles with small hole on top, when is time to oxygenate they simply squeeze bottle letting the air pass trough the hole.
__________________
We are only 10,000 years into beer... there are thousands of years left to go!
Things are bound to change!!

Brewroom with HERMS build
Fermentation chamber and Keezer.. a.k.a. FermKeezer
diS is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 12:06 PM   #6
Clementine
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Waynesboro, PA
Posts: 545
Liked 11 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by two_one_seven View Post
No you can not add too many yeast cells.
Yes you can over pitch. However as someone else said it is very unlikely in the home brew world. The way most home brews over pitch is by pitching on to a cake of yeast from another brew. Essentially making a 5 gallon starter, use a pitch rate calculator to get an approximation of the size of starter you need for the brew you plan to make and that way you will be getting it right and not wasting DME or under pitching. Mr Malty is the most popular Yeast Calc tool out there however there are lots of them and a little reading on the subject will show you how to calculate your numbers yourself.


Clem
Clementine is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 01:13 AM   #7
two_one_seven
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Dublin, OH
Posts: 709
Liked 23 Times on 21 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clementine View Post
Yes you can over pitch. However as someone else said it is very unlikely in the home brew world. The way most home brews over pitch is by pitching on to a cake of yeast from another brew. Essentially making a 5 gallon starter, use a pitch rate calculator to get an approximation of the size of starter you need for the brew you plan to make and that way you will be getting it right and not wasting DME or under pitching. Mr Malty is the most popular Yeast Calc tool out there however there are lots of them and a little reading on the subject will show you how to calculate your numbers yourself.


Clem
Which was my point. You can't over pitch when making a reasonable sized starter.


two_one_seven is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Starter or No Starter with Large Amount of Washed Yeast jww9618 Fermentation & Yeast 14 02-24-2014 04:56 PM
Mocktoberfest (marzen)- should i make a yeast starter with harvested yeast? mhayden37 Fermentation & Yeast 12 02-22-2012 02:24 PM
Is there anything different in making a yeast starter from washed lager yeast? msa8967 Fermentation & Yeast 6 01-28-2012 03:38 PM
Does my yeast packet with built in starter, need a starter? dassy Fermentation & Yeast 130 01-24-2012 05:33 PM
Can you add more starter wort to an existing yeast starter? vast_reaction Fermentation & Yeast 10 10-07-2011 03:15 AM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS