Coldbreak Brewing HERMS Giveaway!

HomeBrewSupply AMCYL Brew Kettle Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Brewing and smoking automation in one
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-15-2012, 06:30 PM   #1
Elfmaze
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 530
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts

Default Brewing and smoking automation in one

I am currently building a brew-magic clone And i'm planning on a PID with RIMS tube electric design with direct fire assist.

I also have an UDS smoker that i would like to add a fan and controller to.


Can these two systems be the same thing? It seems the roles are fairly similar. When a PID "learns" Is it just during that session how the heat is reacting or does it learn over time? meaning if i swap between the systems will i have error?

Should a fan for a smoker be run digitally or analogue?


Elfmaze is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 07:17 PM   #2
JonathanS
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 60
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

I did a combination smoker and brewing process controller build recently. In my case, I have 2 PIDs, a timer, 1 SSR, and 2 quick disconnect temperature probes.

For brewing process, currently it only functions as a monitor, but possibly in the future I will use furnace valves to automate (currently using NG).

For smoker process, 120 VAC is passed through SSR and the electric heating element (power output on left) on my el-cheapo brinkmann smoker is turned on and off to maintain temp.

I have a total of 4 RTD / thermocouple sensors. Each one I calibrated to slush water and boiling water data points. The offsets have to be put in each time I switch processes. Regarding the PID "learning" or autotuning, I am sure you could probably write down all of the parameters and input them as needed. I have only autotuned the smoker heating element PID.

For UDS smoker with a fan, you would use the relay output on the PID though, essentially an on/off switch. I have not read up or have experience on this mode. My understanding was that PID learning / autotune only comes into play when operating an SSR and controlling an electric element. I could be wrong through.

Hope this helps!


Click image for larger version

Name:	SDC10762.jpg
Views:	211
Size:	36.7 KB
ID:	48233  
JonathanS is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 10:10 PM   #3
AdamCanFly
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 147
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

I will probably do the same thing with my control panel. Ya'll wouldn't also happen to be left handed pilots would you?
AdamCanFly is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 03:09 AM   #4
Elfmaze
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 530
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts

Default

Cant say i'm left handed, but i am a pilot / Air traffic controller
Elfmaze is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question regarding Automation Direct Relay and LED indicator light terrazza Electric Brewing 4 10-21-2011 02:58 AM
Need help with automation direct switches Dgonza9 Electric Brewing 9 11-09-2010 11:41 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS