Are There Standard Recipes? - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Are There Standard Recipes?

Old 02-14-2012, 06:19 PM   #1
smyrnaquince
Recipes 

Dec 2010
Concord, MA
Liked 22 Times on 20 Posts

I'm relatively new to AG (only two BIABs under my belt). The problem is, when I look for a recipe, the number I find is overwhelming!

Are there "standard" recipes for the different beer styles that get you the basic beer? I'm thinking of recipes that more-or-less everyone agrees makes an APA or a Stout or a whatever, that you could then vary in later batches to put your own twist on it.

My current problem is that I'd like to make an Oatmeal Stout or a Cream/Milk Stout, but can't pick a recipe. Every write-up makes every recipe sound good.

Old 02-14-2012, 06:26 PM   #2
JohnnyO

Recipes 

Dec 2008
Hamden, CT
Liked 917 Times on 857 Posts

There are various opinions on it, but I recommend Brewing Classic Styles. It's a great book with a solid recipe for every style. Give it a look.

Oh, and don't trust every recipe you see on here. There are some clunkers.

Old 02-14-2012, 06:26 PM   #3
dukeredhair
Recipes 

Jan 2010
desert
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

I found the http://www.amazon.com/Designing-Grea.../dp/0937381500 book to be really helpful with this. It doesn't necessarily nail down recipes but it given you a good idea of portions and base malts/ hops and temps for a ton of different styles.

Old 02-14-2012, 06:29 PM   #4
stratslinger
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Dec 2010
Terryville, CT
Liked 215 Times on 179 Posts

Definitely check out Brewing Classic Styles - I've made a few beers from that book, and they've all been fantastic!

I'm currently making my way through Designing Great Beers, as I really want to learn to formulate my own recipes. So far, it seems a good resource, but I'm still really early in the book...

Old 02-14-2012, 07:36 PM   #5
cricky101
Recipes 

Jan 2011
St. Paul, MN