Buy new grains or crush em myself? - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Buy new grains or crush em myself?

Old 02-13-2012, 11:23 PM   #1
sclabrl
Recipes 

Feb 2012
Chicago, IL
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Newbie here....

Forgot to get the grains crushed....

After reading pages and pages on this topic, I attempted and crushed them myself. It took awhile and used a rolling pin just enough where I could see they cracked. I'm sure theyre all not cracked...

Should I make a run and buy new grain that is already crushed or use what I have? The grain is carapils if that matters. Any opinions and attempts to poke fun at the new guy are welcome....thanks

Starting batch #1 tomorrow.

Old 02-13-2012, 11:32 PM   #2
mbird
Recipes 

Dec 2008
California

I found that having my own mill and the ability to crush the grain myself was invaluable to producing better beer along with increased savings. I usually crush my grain much more than the homebrew shop did and as a result ended up with a much better efficiency. I don't know if you have access to a roller mill before you brew but when I'm in Mexico I use one of these

http://backyardbrewer.blogspot.com/2...malt-mill.html

with good results. You can often find these in grocery stores where they sell whole food/grains. Cheers.

mark
www.backyardbrewer.blogspot.com

Old 02-13-2012, 11:45 PM   #3
sclabrl
Recipes 

Feb 2012
Chicago, IL
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

I already crushed them ( if you call it that) as instructed , but ya think I should just use them or buy new? It's my first brew and not sure how bad getting a 'generic' crush would have if any. Midwest said no worries, do I trust him??

Old 02-14-2012, 12:00 AM   #4
Huisache
Recipes 

Oct 2011
Princeton, TX
Liked 4 Times on 2 Posts