Will this cheap 3500 watt induction burner work? - Home Brew Forums
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Will this cheap 3500 watt induction burner work?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-06-2012, 08:49 PM   #1
GoNova
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
GoNova's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2008
Philadelphia
Posts: 125
Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts



***UPDATE***

I appreciate all the posts to this thread. I decided to move to induction brewing and haven't looked back. IT IS AWESOME. Use the link below for details and pictures. I hope this is helpful to those interested in making the switch.

http://www.mainlinebrewers.com/proje...ction-brewing/

For a great article on induction brewing, see the BYO article below.

https://byo.com/component/k2/item/2967-induction-heat

************

I am exploring the jump to electric brewing and found this very reasonably priced induction burner. Can you guys think of any reason why it would not work? I suspect my brew kettle will be larger than the burner. Will that be a problem.

http://www.amazon.com/Avantco-IC3500.../dp/B00514BTJ6

Would this just plug right into my 240 dryer outlet?

Any other things I should be thinking about?

Excuse my ignorance, but I'm just starting to learn about electric brewing.

Cheers.



 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 10:24 PM   #2
Biohazard
Recipes 
 
Jan 2012
Canyon Lake, CA
Posts: 103
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts


What kind of brew pot do you have? Induction cooking requires good contact between the pan and cooktop. A keggle wouldnt work well, and I would suggest a stainless steel pot. I know more about the cooktop than I do brewing so I will leave that to the experts around here. Worse off you would have to use a heatstick depending on your batch size.



 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 11:40 PM   #3
Lennie
Recipes 
 
Dec 2008
Hannibal, MO
Posts: 583
Liked 13 Times on 12 Posts


I have a triple-layer bottom on my SS kettle and it is magnetic. Once I insulated it I could get a boil on 4gal with an 1800W induction burner. Theres no guarantee that a SS pot will be magnetic, check it first with a magnet (fridge magnet is good enough).

Yes I believe the burner would plug in the 240V outlet.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 02:36 PM   #4
GoNova
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
GoNova's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2008
Philadelphia
Posts: 125
Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts


Thanks guys. I do have a stainless pot. Is it ok if the diameter of the pot exceeds the diameter of the burner?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 02:46 PM   #5
WAORGANY
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
WAORGANY's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Apr 2010
Northern NY, NY
Posts: 476
Liked 14 Times on 12 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by GoNova View Post
Thanks guys. I do have a stainless pot. Is it ok if the diameter of the pot exceeds the diameter of the burner?
Yeah it just needs to be magnetic and MOST SS pots are not!
__________________
RLTW!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 03:33 PM   #6
Biohazard
Recipes 
 
Jan 2012
Canyon Lake, CA
Posts: 103
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts


Not sure on the plug part, I know my dryer certainly doesnt look like the plug shown on this site:
Plug Picture

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 04:49 PM   #7
Lennie
Recipes 
 
Dec 2008
Hannibal, MO
Posts: 583
Liked 13 Times on 12 Posts


Looks like a standard 240V plug to me, three prong with one sideways to the other. Hard to tell the actual size though.

Definitely check your pot to be sure its magnetic.

My pot hangs over the sides of the hotplate a couple of inches. It really doesn't matter except if the hotplate will hold the weight. I've heard of people putting wooden spacers under the overhanging edges of the pot to hold some/all of the weight. Induction will work as long as the bottom is within 0.5" of the cooking surface, at least I've read that.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 06:06 PM   #8
JustLooking
Recipes 
 
Dec 2009
Posts: 637
Liked 124 Times on 89 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Lennie View Post
Induction will work as long as the bottom is within 0.5" of the cooking surface, at least I've read that.
Anyone know more about this? For weight reasons it would be good if you could support your pot on the outer edges a little above the burner. But the website say that the cooker automatically switches itself to standby mode when the cookware is removed from the cooking surface. I wonder if this is controlled by weight or the induction current being recognized?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 06:26 PM   #9
Lennie
Recipes 
 
Dec 2008
Hannibal, MO
Posts: 583
Liked 13 Times on 12 Posts


The instructions with my little 1800W Max Burton burner state that the pan has to be within 1.5" of the burner surface. I'd read the 1/2" value on another thread here on Homebrewtalk.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 06:42 PM   #10
JustLooking
Recipes 
 
Dec 2009
Posts: 637
Liked 124 Times on 89 Posts


Does yours have the "automatically switch to standby when the cookware is removed" feature?



 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Induction Burner Recommendations? matts Electric Brewing 16 10-16-2014 10:51 PM
Induction Burner nanofreak Electric Brewing 21 01-27-2014 06:36 PM
3000 Watt Induction for the electrically challenged? ayoungrad Electric Brewing 33 04-26-2013 09:25 PM
1800 watt induction boils how much wort? bigdaddybrew Electric Brewing 13 02-06-2012 11:34 PM
Induction??? Katie225 Electric Brewing 1 10-26-2011 06:20 PM


Forum Jump