Was planning on 120V, now thinking 240V... - Page 2 - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Was planning on 120V, now thinking 240V...

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-06-2012, 05:50 PM   #11
AlteredEgo
Recipes 
 
Dec 2009
Kansas
Posts: 18

Quote:
Originally Posted by lzrdkng14 View Post
I was planning on using 100 ft 10 gauge...ok?
NO. You should not use a cable with a lower current capacity than the circuit breaker.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 06:04 PM   #12
bruin_ale
 
bruin_ale's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2009
Campbell, CA
Posts: 1,436
Liked 21 Times on 21 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by AlteredEgo View Post
NO. You should not use a cable with a lower current capacity than the circuit breaker.
In general this is true. But since you've said that the dryer outlet that this is plugged into is a 30A breaker, you're fine using the 10AWG - although 100' is a long run, I'm not sure about that. You know how much 100' 10 gauge is going to cost you right?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 06:54 PM   #13
seatbelt123
Recipes 
 
Sep 2011
Durham, NC
Posts: 391
Liked 18 Times on 17 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by boswell
Seatbelt, have a build thread anywhere? I'm leaning towards this route.
Good idea. I don't. I just built it two weeks ago. I will take some pics and post soon.

It was easy.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 08:33 PM   #14
kerklein2
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Dec 2008
Austin
Posts: 397
Liked 19 Times on 14 Posts


So I've just noticed that 10-4 rubber cord is only rated to 25A. Since this is less than the breaker AND really close to total system current (5500W element + pump + PIDs and such) it seems I should go up to 8-4 to get 35A correct? That stuff ain't cheap.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 08:49 PM   #15
iijakii
 
iijakii's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jun 2010
Portland-ish, OR
Posts: 6,047
Liked 1801 Times on 1125 Posts


Aren't most 10/4 cords 30amp? Maybe that was just due to the insulation.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 08:57 PM   #16
lzrdkng14
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
lzrdkng14's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2011
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Posts: 268
Liked 17 Times on 12 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by bruin_ale

In general this is true. But since you've said that the dryer outlet that this is plugged into is a 30A breaker, you're fine using the 10AWG - although 100' is a long run, I'm not sure about that. You know how much 100' 10 gauge is going to cost you right?
125 bucks. I already bought it!
__________________
---------------------------------------------------------------
Serving Keg:
Chalkdust Torture (Heady clone) - brewed 1/8/16

Dryhop Keg:
Dirty Orange Session IPA/Hoppy Amber (1/15/16)

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 09:03 PM   #17
kerklein2
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Dec 2008
Austin
Posts: 397
Liked 19 Times on 14 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by iijakii View Post
Aren't most 10/4 cords 30amp? Maybe that was just due to the insulation.
Well the stuff Home Depot has (Cerro Wire) is only 25A, as is anything McMaster has. But I just found this that is 30A as well as nice and cheap. I'll be going with it.

http://lockingpowercords.com/Product...soow-wire.aspx

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 09:47 PM   #18
jeffmeh
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
jeffmeh's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2009
Posts: 2,159
Liked 211 Times on 181 Posts


Here's another one for 10/4. http://www.stayonline.com/detail.aspx?ID=18361

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 10:25 PM   #19
bruin_ale
 
bruin_ale's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2009
Campbell, CA
Posts: 1,436
Liked 21 Times on 21 Posts


Interesting.. from the above website:

"UL General-Use guidance for Ampacity of current-carrying conductors is contingent upon length (50 Feet or less) and number of current carrying conductors. Fifty Feet or less 30 amp with 2 hots and 25 amp with 3 hots. Over Fifty Feet 25 amp with 2 hots and 20 amp with 3 hots."

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 11:38 PM   #20
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Mar 2010
Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,336
Liked 302 Times on 235 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by kerklein2 View Post
Dryer outlet is 4 prong. On the power output side, is that just your cable exiting through a cable gland or something? Or did you put a panel mount outlet on the side?
Here is a picture of the panel that someone set up with the outlet directly mounted in it. On his setup he used bx cable for the feed. I believe you will be using a plug and cord for the input power.




I hope this helps you.

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thinking about 120v BIAB setup theschick Electric Brewing 41 01-13-2012 02:29 AM
120v/2000w & 240v/5500w together in keggle Flyin Electric Brewing 11 09-17-2011 05:42 AM
can someone help with 120v? agezzi Electric Brewing 58 08-15-2011 11:12 AM
Switch for running element at 120v OR 240V? thelorax121 Electric Brewing 14 05-10-2011 11:37 PM
Strange issue with 240v legs. 120v on both, no 240v Brewmoor Electric Brewing 5 12-03-2010 07:15 PM


Forum Jump