Coldbreak Brewing Giveaway - Winners Drawn!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Suggestions for an electric burner stand?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-03-2012, 09:43 PM   #1
bernerbrau
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 8,526
Liked 27 Times on 26 Posts
Likes Given: 13

Default Suggestions for an electric burner stand?

What the title says. Anyone have any recommendations for a standard 120V plug-in electric burner stand that can get 10 gallons to a boil from room temp relatively quickly?

(Re-post from here: http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f11/sugg...-stand-300894/)


bernerbrau is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 10:00 PM   #2
iijakii
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
iijakii's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,118
Liked 213 Times on 157 Posts
Likes Given: 293

Default

There is no such thing.


iijakii is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 10:39 PM   #3
bernerbrau
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 8,526
Liked 27 Times on 26 Posts
Likes Given: 13

Default

Care to clarify? Which part of my request is unrealistic?
bernerbrau is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 10:54 PM   #4
iijakii
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
iijakii's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,118
Liked 213 Times on 157 Posts
Likes Given: 293

Default

Well on 120V you really can't boil more than 5-6 gal with an immersed element. So that right there blows your plan out of the water.

As for a prebuilt electric burner, here's a recent thread over using induction burners. There are many other threads as well. http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f170/180...h-wort-285320/
iijakii is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 10:57 PM   #5
wildwest450
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 9,099
Liked 170 Times on 155 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Unfortunately, I think iijakii is right. That's way too much water for 120v.
wildwest450 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 11:10 PM   #6
bernerbrau
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 8,526
Liked 27 Times on 26 Posts
Likes Given: 13

Default

Rats. Well, I suppose having to run 240 conduit to my back patio and garage wouldn't be the end of the world, except for the hole I'd have to put in my foundation. I'll check out the induction burner thread for ideas.
bernerbrau is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 12:30 AM   #7
wilserbrewer
BIAB Expert Tailor
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Feedback Score: 10 reviews
 
wilserbrewer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Jersey Shore, Jersey
Posts: 8,087
Liked 795 Times on 636 Posts
Likes Given: 15

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wildwest450 View Post
Unfortunately, I think iijakii is right. That's way too much water for 120v.
But two 120v 20a circuits can bring 4000w to the party
wilserbrewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 09:38 PM   #8
bernerbrau
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 8,526
Liked 27 Times on 26 Posts
Likes Given: 13

Default

So I'm running the numbers (q=mcDt), and it's 12.5 megajoules to boil 10 gallons of room temperature water. With 100% heat transfer (immersion) and zero heat loss, 8 kw can boil 10 gallons in half an hour.

So... is it possible to get 8-10 kw out of 240VAC?
bernerbrau is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 09:42 PM   #9
iijakii
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
iijakii's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,118
Liked 213 Times on 157 Posts
Likes Given: 293

Default

How many amps do you have available?

One 5500w element draws nearly 23 amps (5500/240). You can run that and a pump, switches off a 30 amp dryer plug for instance. That's more than adequate for 10 gallons. If you have 50amps at your disposal you can run a 5500W in both the HLT and BK for instance.
iijakii is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 09:51 PM   #10
bernerbrau
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 8,526
Liked 27 Times on 26 Posts
Likes Given: 13

Default

Quote:
How many amps do you have available?
How do I find that out? Is there a primer I should be reading?

And is there a way to do this without immersion, at least to start?


bernerbrau is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Building new stand, changing plan from propane to electric and need help vaheel Electric Brewing 22 02-12-2012 01:50 AM
Replacing a burner with an electric element crypt0 Electric Brewing 11 10-31-2011 03:06 AM
pricing going all electric, has anyone used a dunnage rack as a stand? boswell Electric Brewing 3 09-30-2011 09:48 PM
6 gallon boil on 12 electric stovetop burner Okie12beer Electric Brewing 6 06-22-2011 12:31 AM
Service cart for stand Navy_Brewer Electric Brewing 10 03-29-2011 02:23 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS