Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > RTD sensor for stock thermowell in Stout Tanks
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-03-2012, 04:09 AM   #1
Mb2658
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: , NE
Posts: 414
Liked 36 Times on 26 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default RTD sensor for stock thermowell in Stout Tanks

I am looking into Stout kettles for my electric brewery build. I know that the thermometers that come with the kettles will fit into the thermowells. I am trying to figure out what if any RTD probe will fit in the thermowells that Stout welds in to their kettles. Does anyone have experience with this? I figure that I will use a tri clover T on the output of the herms coil to place a rtd probe for mash temp. Would I be better off ordering a tri clover port where I can add an RTD probe instead of the thermowell? Thanks in advance.


Mb2658 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 04:44 PM   #2
cheez
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
cheez's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Green Side of, WA
Posts: 184
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 13

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mb2658 View Post
I am looking into Stout kettles for my electric brewery build. I know that the thermometers that come with the kettles will fit into the thermowells. I am trying to figure out what if any RTD probe will fit in the thermowells that Stout welds in to their kettles. Does anyone have experience with this? I figure that I will use a tri clover T on the output of the herms coil to place a rtd probe for mash temp. Would I be better off ordering a tri clover port where I can add an RTD probe instead of the thermowell? Thanks in advance.
Did you ever get an answer on this? I'm trying to figure out the same thing. Thanks.
cheez is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 07:21 PM   #3
Mb2658
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: , NE
Posts: 414
Liked 36 Times on 26 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheez

Did you ever get an answer on this? I'm trying to figure out the same thing. Thanks.
I ended up going with tri-clamp thermowells, which You can order from Stout instead of the fixed thermowells. I am doing a Brewtroller build so I bought the temp sensors from Oscsys.com. They fit in the thermowells with a 1/2 to 1/4 compression adapter.
Mb2658 is offline
cheez Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stout Tanks RIMS Module aNYbrewery Electric Brewing 20 08-10-2012 11:15 AM
Sensor locations?? Rondacker Electric Brewing 1 05-29-2011 11:37 AM
Sensor Question eric_pwb Electric Brewing 3 05-23-2011 11:30 PM
PID and I2C Temperature Sensor? TriangleIL Electric Brewing 17 02-22-2011 09:49 PM
temperature sensor to 10 bit ADC cheese Electric Brewing 10 12-14-2010 07:55 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS