Need advice, panel not GFCI protected - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Need advice, panel not GFCI protected

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-31-2012, 02:21 AM   #1
Dgonza9
 
Dgonza9's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2010
Evanston, Illinois
Posts: 1,182
Liked 11 Times on 11 Posts



I'm planning a control panel to control 4 2000w elements in two keggles, a RIMS tube and two pumps. DPST contactors and illuminated, pushbutton switches.

Question is, do I need gfci protection for the panel? Right now, my keggles plug into GFCI outlets. I was planning on running lines from the breakers to the control panel, then running lines to GFCI outlets to plug the keggles in. But I'm worried that my panel isn't GFCI protected.

I don't know much about fuses, so for now, my plan was to wire the contactors to share 2 separate 20 amp lines. The BK and HLT won't be on at the same time, then have a third 20amp line for Rims tube and pumps.

I know this isn't elegant. But I don't know much about fuses. 220V would involve a lot of changes from where I'm currently at.

Other than trying to install 4 20 amp gfci breakers, any suggestions?

Thanks.
__________________
On Tap: Belgian Barrel Aged Barleywine, Da Yooper's Oatmeal Stout, Breakfast Stout, Hop Your Face Off IIPA, Catcher in the Rye Saison, "Wino-head" Nelsin Sauvin Gumballhead.

Bourbon Barrel Duchesse De Bourgnone
Kegged:

Fermenting English Mild

on Deck: Lager?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2012, 02:46 AM   #2
Dgonza9
 
Dgonza9's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2010
Evanston, Illinois
Posts: 1,182
Liked 11 Times on 11 Posts


Could I just use 3 of THESE

Looks like the 20 amp gfci breakers run about $75-$80 each. So this is at least cheaper.
__________________
On Tap: Belgian Barrel Aged Barleywine, Da Yooper's Oatmeal Stout, Breakfast Stout, Hop Your Face Off IIPA, Catcher in the Rye Saison, "Wino-head" Nelsin Sauvin Gumballhead.

Bourbon Barrel Duchesse De Bourgnone
Kegged:

Fermenting English Mild

on Deck: Lager?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2012, 03:58 AM   #3
pvtschultz
Recipes 
 
Feb 2010
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Posts: 457
Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts


That's a whole 'lot of extension cords you must be using. Why not just go with these receptacles?

http://www.amazon.com/Leviton-7899-W...7982252&sr=8-1
__________________
Brewing: Amber Ale, Dunkel
Drinking: Sour Brown, Schlitz...
On Deck: Berliner Weisse, Spotted Cow Clone, CAP...
2016 Gallons Brewed: 10 :(
Gallons Brewed '11-'15: 319

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f170/pvt...inally-298407/

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2012, 04:39 AM   #4
lschiavo
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
lschiavo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2009
Surrounded by Yoopers
Posts: 4,554
Liked 1029 Times on 699 Posts


How much current do you expect the panel to draw? I would plug it into one of the existing gfi receptacles. Controls usually don't use much power.

Fuses are simple - just match the wire size to the fuse.

A diagram is a great help. Sketch one up for review or start with one here and we can help make your revisions.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2012, 06:14 AM   #5
yjfun
Recipes 
 
Jun 2010
Arlington, Washington
Posts: 225
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts


lschiavo is right the panel won't draw much power even with the amount of stuff you have in there. Just feed all your control power off of one gfi outlet and it'll save you a lot of hassle.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2012, 01:59 PM   #6
Dgonza9
 
Dgonza9's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2010
Evanston, Illinois
Posts: 1,182
Liked 11 Times on 11 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by yjfun View Post
lschiavo is right the panel won't draw much power even with the amount of stuff you have in there. Just feed all your control power off of one gfi outlet and it'll save you a lot of hassle.
So you're saying to run one 60 amp line to the panel with #6 gauge wire. Then use fuses to protect things? I'd need a 60 amp gfci breaker, though, no?

I was thinking of that. It's just that I started in the direction of plugging keggles and my RIMS box into switched GFCI outlets. So I have four circuits in the area already. I was just going to feed those circuits to my panel, but then my panel isn't GFCI protected.

I'll make up a few sketches before I proceed.
__________________
On Tap: Belgian Barrel Aged Barleywine, Da Yooper's Oatmeal Stout, Breakfast Stout, Hop Your Face Off IIPA, Catcher in the Rye Saison, "Wino-head" Nelsin Sauvin Gumballhead.

Bourbon Barrel Duchesse De Bourgnone
Kegged:

Fermenting English Mild

on Deck: Lager?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2012, 03:22 PM   #7
Dgonza9
 
Dgonza9's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2010
Evanston, Illinois
Posts: 1,182
Liked 11 Times on 11 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by yjfun View Post
lschiavo is right the panel won't draw much power even with the amount of stuff you have in there. Just feed all your control power off of one gfi outlet and it'll save you a lot of hassle.
Okay, I must have missed something. If I have a brew kettle running, that's two 2000w elements at 120V. So they're drawing about 33 amps of power. How can I provide power to the panel from a 20 amp GFCI?
__________________
On Tap: Belgian Barrel Aged Barleywine, Da Yooper's Oatmeal Stout, Breakfast Stout, Hop Your Face Off IIPA, Catcher in the Rye Saison, "Wino-head" Nelsin Sauvin Gumballhead.

Bourbon Barrel Duchesse De Bourgnone
Kegged:

Fermenting English Mild

on Deck: Lager?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2012, 03:29 PM   #8
lschiavo
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
lschiavo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2009
Surrounded by Yoopers
Posts: 4,554
Liked 1029 Times on 699 Posts


I was envisioning three 20A GFI circuits. One for each element and one for control/pumps.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2012, 04:03 PM   #9
yjfun
Recipes 
 
Jun 2010
Arlington, Washington
Posts: 225
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts


That's what I was thinking. Run two circuits from your main panel into your control panel through the relays or ssr's to feed two 20 amp gfi outlets on your control panel. Plug in your elements. Run an extension cord from a third 20 amp gfi on your garage wall (or wherever you brew) to your control panel and connect your switches, pids, indicator lights, pump, etc.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2012, 04:11 PM   #10
Dgonza9
 
Dgonza9's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2010
Evanston, Illinois
Posts: 1,182
Liked 11 Times on 11 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by yjfun View Post
That's what I was thinking. Run two circuits from your main panel into your control panel through the relays or ssr's to feed two 20 amp gfi outlets on your control panel. Plug in your elements. Run an extension cord from a third 20 amp gfi on your garage wall (or wherever you brew) to your control panel and connect your switches, pids, indicator lights, pump, etc.
I see what you are saying. The elements will be protected by their GFCI outlets. The switches and pumps by the GFCI line I provide into the panel.

You're saying that there's no need to provide GFCI protection for the relays and terminal bars themselves inside the panel, though. Correct?

My concern is that the panel could get splashed or something and it's not really GFCI protected. The gfci protection is upstream for my 2 20 amp circuits and so power will not be shut off at the panel if it becomes energized. Or am I wrong about that?
__________________
On Tap: Belgian Barrel Aged Barleywine, Da Yooper's Oatmeal Stout, Breakfast Stout, Hop Your Face Off IIPA, Catcher in the Rye Saison, "Wino-head" Nelsin Sauvin Gumballhead.

Bourbon Barrel Duchesse De Bourgnone
Kegged:

Fermenting English Mild

on Deck: Lager?

 
Reply With Quote


Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GFCI trips continuously--advice neede djdixon1995 Electric Brewing 12 01-28-2012 04:33 AM
will this GFCI panel work? NoCornOrRice Electric Brewing 4 01-12-2012 06:15 PM
GFCI 30 amp cords extinct? Question on GFCI breaker too... jdlev Electric Brewing 23 07-26-2011 01:01 AM
Panel GFCI Breaker IrregularPulse Electric Brewing 13 03-23-2011 08:43 PM


Forum Jump