Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Extract Brewing > Extract brew - Topping up with water?

Old 01-24-2012, 05:26 AM   #1
Waddell
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 1

Default Extract brew - Topping up with water?

My current set up is a 6.5 gallon primary with a 6 gallon secondary and I am a newbie wanting to brew my first batch of extract.

Here is my dilemma, can I ferment a 5 gallon batch in my primary then top up my 6 gallon secondary with the remaining 1 gallon of boiled then cooled water without comprimising the taste? Or should i rig up a bow off tube in a drilled bung and do a 6 gallon batch from the start?

Old 01-24-2012, 06:04 AM   #2
HopSong
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 99 Times on 87 Posts
Likes Given: 13

Split the batch in two? Should be fine. Or, simply make a 5 Gal batch and you'll be fine in either. Depending on the beer you are making.. you should not need a secondary.

Old 01-24-2012, 11:17 AM   #3
brtisbuck
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Most extract kits make 5 gallon batches, so you will need more extract if you are working from a kit. If you are working from a recipe be sure to adjust quantities accordingly so you are actually making what you expect.

If it were me, I would use no secondary and brew 2 batches at 5 gallons. More practice and more beer!

Old 01-24-2012, 12:53 PM   #4
Rbeckett
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 70 Times on 49 Posts
Likes Given: 29

[QUOTE=brtisbuck;3700530
If it were me, I would use no secondary and brew 2 batches at 5 gallons. More practice and more beer![/QUOTE]
Dude, I like the way you think. Why waste room when you can run off two batches at the same time. Bottling day might be a little hectic, but that only happens every so often. Orrrrrr....You could just keg it and call it good. Hmmmmm.....decisions decisions, decisions.
Bob

Old 01-24-2012, 02:46 PM   #5
Waddell
Recipes