Coldbreak Brewing HERMS Giveaway!

HomeBrewSupply AMCYL Brew Kettle Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > 40A enough?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-26-2012, 07:10 PM   #11
BetterSense
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Richardson, Texas
Posts: 1,024
Liked 54 Times on 44 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Quote:
A single receptacle or duplex receptacle for two appliances located within a dedicated space for each appliance
I have a hard time understanding that. A single receptacle for two appliances? TWO duplex receptacles (one in each dedicated space)? Huh?

I wonder if I can claim it doesn't need GFCI if my welder/air compressor can be considered an appliance.


BetterSense is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 07:23 PM   #12
pvtschultz
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New Berlin, Wisconsin
Posts: 457
Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 15

Default

It means duplex receptacle (two outlets in one assembly which are the norm in houses) for two freezers. The catch is that the outlet needs to be out of ordinary reach so some dude can't plug in an extension cord and drop it in a big puddle or something.


__________________
Brewing: Berliner-like Weisse, Lemon-Lime Hefe, Skeeter Pee, Sour Brown
Drinking: Dunkel
On Deck: Coffee Stout, Black Lager, Spotted Cow Clone, APA, Berliner Weiss...
2015 Gallons Brewed: 20
Gallons Brewed '11-'14: 284

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f170/pvt...inally-298407/
pvtschultz is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 07:23 PM   #13
yjfun
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Arlington, Washington
Posts: 225
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

It translates into if you have one 120volt appliance you need a single receptacle(only one place to plug into) but if you have 2 appliances you can use a duplex receptacle(what you normally use)

The rule is for standard 120 volt convenience receptacles not dedicated equipment receptacles so if you are plugging in a 240 volt compressor or welder you don't have to protect it with a gfi.

I don't make the rules but they make me follow them.
yjfun is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 07:27 PM   #14
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,335
Liked 292 Times on 229 Posts
Likes Given: 496

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yjfun View Post
...
I don't make the rules but they make me follow them.
Very well said.!
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 09:47 PM   #15
BetterSense
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Richardson, Texas
Posts: 1,024
Liked 54 Times on 44 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

I appreciate all the insight and help. When it comes to things like this, I like to at least try to do things in a correct or at least a standard way.


BetterSense is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools



Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS