Coldbreak Brewing HERMS Giveaway!

HomeBrewSupply AMCYL Brew Kettle Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > GFI breaker pricing... this can't be right
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-16-2012, 02:58 PM   #1
flanneltrees804
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 118
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default GFI breaker pricing... this can't be right

This website has Siemens 2-pole gfi breakers for $32 NIB... that can't be right. Anyone have experience with this company? Is there some condition where I have to buy 5000 pieces at a time, is shipping $100?

Circuit Breakers | Molded Case Circuit Breakers | Siemens Circuit Breakers Type QPF - GlobalIndustrial.com


flanneltrees804 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 02:59 PM   #2
flanneltrees804
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 118
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

With shipping my total is $43.42...


flanneltrees804 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 03:00 PM   #3
stlbeer
Senior Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
stlbeer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Fenton, MO
Posts: 946
Liked 37 Times on 36 Posts
Likes Given: 92

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flanneltrees804 View Post
With shipping my total is $43.42...
Make sure it fits your breaker box. This is the reason most folks use the spa panel. Well that and having the reset in the room/area where the brewing is taking place.
stlbeer is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 03:03 PM   #4
flanneltrees804
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 118
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Breakers in my box are Siemens type QP, this one is QPF. I am assuming the "F" is for GFI and that this will fit. I can't find a type QP that is GFI.
flanneltrees804 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 06:07 PM   #5
yjfun
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Arlington, Washington
Posts: 225
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

You are correct the F designates that it is a GFI breaker. QP is the breaker design. That design was standardized and used by many different manufacturers since at least the early 70's. That breaker will fit Square D Homeline series, some Cutler Hammer, Siemens ITE, Challenger, GE, Sylvania, Westinghouse, and Bryant panels. There might be more that I can't remember.
yjfun is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 07:30 PM   #6
kgalle
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: SEPA, PA
Posts: 239
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

I have seen this breaker, too. Is it a viable option?
kgalle is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 07:45 PM   #7
Brickout
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lockport, IL
Posts: 268
Liked 24 Times on 10 Posts

Default

I'm wondering if they have one for my panel. But I'll be damned if I can figure out what "type" of breaker I have. All I know is that it's made by square D.

*EDIT* Nevermind, I found it. It's type HOM.
Brickout is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 09:20 PM   #8
flanneltrees804
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 118
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

So this breaker will fit... that's a huge relief! My other question would be about the use of a spa panel. I don't know how long I'll be in my current home and would like to have all of my equipment transferable to wherever I live. For a few dollars more ($50 spa panel and $10 non-gfi breaker) I can be ensured that this rig will only need a $10 breaker instead of $80 gfi in the future. Who uses what method and what are the pros and cons?
flanneltrees804 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 04:42 AM   #9
yjfun
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Arlington, Washington
Posts: 225
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Spa panel is easier and more economical because if you move to a house with an older electrical panel you may not be able to find a reasonably priced GFI if you can find one at all. I would personally put a standard breaker in the main panel and the GFI on or near the sculpture that way when it trips it's easier to get to.
yjfun is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 02:32 PM   #10
DustBow
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Cincy, OH
Posts: 657
Liked 21 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

I looked in my breaker box and thought the breakers said "type: OP"
Could that be right - is there an OP and a QP? Are they the same thing/compatible?

Or are they different or maybe I need to take another look at them?

Thanks for any info - house was built in 1997 if that helps.


__________________
"Brewers make wort, yeast make beer."

"Brewing beer is neither complicated nor expensive. It's the responsibility of the brewer to make it as complicated and expensive as their spouse & budget will allow."
DustBow is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
50 amp breaker...20 amp GFCI? jdlev Electric Brewing 2 06-05-2011 07:46 PM
Take a Look at my Breaker Panel... ScubaSteve Electric Brewing 21 02-08-2011 07:42 PM
Pump breaker ExHempKnight Electric Brewing 6 01-09-2011 08:52 PM
Did I Blow My Breaker? Maltose Electric Brewing 5 12-12-2010 04:58 AM
2 2K heatsticks on 1 30A breaker? BeantownD Electric Brewing 14 11-19-2010 08:20 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS