Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Thermowell and digital thermometer question
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-15-2012, 04:38 PM   #1
builderguy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 91
Liked 2 Times on 1 Posts

Default Thermowell and digital thermometer question

Okay, so I'm not happy with the performance of the dial thermometers so I'm wondering if I can install a thermowell in my HLT where the thermometer is now and use a more accurate digital thermometer just inserted into that thermowell?

Any input would be great as my current dial thermometer is broken (dial fell off) and I need to decide what to replace it with.


builderguy is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 04:59 PM   #2
OneHoppyGuy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 1,704
Liked 42 Times on 34 Posts
Likes Given: 52

Default

Yes, you can do that. I much prefer this style fitting. Especially in the Mash Tun. You can slide the probe most of the way out for stirring and then push it back in.


OneHoppyGuy is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 05:02 PM   #3
builderguy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 91
Liked 2 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OneHoppyGuy View Post
Yes, you can do that. I much prefer this style fitting. Especially in the Mash Tun. You can slide the probe most of the way out for stirring and then push it back in.
what type of temp probe or thermometer do you use?
builderguy is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 05:08 PM   #4
OneHoppyGuy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 1,704
Liked 42 Times on 34 Posts
Likes Given: 52

Default

Depending on what the customer is ordering, we use Thermistors, RTDs and Thermocouples. We buy thermistors for BCS controllers from BrewersHardware. They make a 1/4" diameter probe and their work is top notch. For PIDs we prefer RTDs because of their accuracy. Whatever you buy, make sure it has a 1/4" diameter probe.
OneHoppyGuy is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 05:09 PM   #5
H-ost
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 1,753
Liked 53 Times on 52 Posts
Likes Given: 108

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OneHoppyGuy View Post
Yes, you can do that. I much prefer this style fitting. Especially in the Mash Tun. You can slide the probe most of the way out for stirring and then push it back in.
I'm guessing you have used it during the mash like this before? The site warns to not make depth adjustments while hot liquid is in there, does that mean it is prone to leaking while you do that or have you had no issues?
H-ost is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 05:16 PM   #6
OneHoppyGuy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 1,704
Liked 42 Times on 34 Posts
Likes Given: 52

Default

I've never had an issue. Lucky so far??
OneHoppyGuy is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 06:28 PM   #7
builderguy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 91
Liked 2 Times on 1 Posts

Default

I don't have any type of digital read out now. If I just want to monitor temp (not control) what should I get...including probe and everything?
builderguy is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 06:42 PM   #8
OneHoppyGuy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 1,704
Liked 42 Times on 34 Posts
Likes Given: 52

Default

Digital temperature display by Dwyer.
And probe
OneHoppyGuy is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 07:05 PM   #9
builderguy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 91
Liked 2 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OneHoppyGuy View Post
The 110v PTC Thermistor one?

Sorry, kinda clueless when it comes to this stuff.
builderguy is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 07:08 PM   #10
builderguy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 91
Liked 2 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Oh, and the probe that has the loose wires, or will there be an M8 connector on these displays?


builderguy is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Digital Thermometer LarsonLE Equipment/Sanitation 3 07-07-2011 10:24 PM
digital thermometer tnbrewer371 Equipment/Sanitation 7 02-09-2011 10:49 PM
Digital Thermometer Steven9026 Equipment/Sanitation 1 02-01-2011 04:00 AM
Keggle, Thermometer, Thermowell - Temperature Issue phillc Equipment/Sanitation 13 11-03-2008 04:42 PM
Digital Thermometer Question.. Hawgbranch Equipment/Sanitation 9 08-28-2008 03:24 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS