Thermowell and digital thermometer question - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Thermowell and digital thermometer question

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-15-2012, 05:38 PM   #1
builderguy
Recipes 
 
Jan 2011
Sacramento, CA
Posts: 91
Liked 3 Times on 1 Posts



Okay, so I'm not happy with the performance of the dial thermometers so I'm wondering if I can install a thermowell in my HLT where the thermometer is now and use a more accurate digital thermometer just inserted into that thermowell?

Any input would be great as my current dial thermometer is broken (dial fell off) and I need to decide what to replace it with.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 05:59 PM   #2
OneHoppyGuy
Recipes 
 
Nov 2009
Concord, CA
Posts: 1,666
Liked 44 Times on 36 Posts


Yes, you can do that. I much prefer this style fitting. Especially in the Mash Tun. You can slide the probe most of the way out for stirring and then push it back in.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 06:02 PM   #3
builderguy
Recipes 
 
Jan 2011
Sacramento, CA
Posts: 91
Liked 3 Times on 1 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by OneHoppyGuy View Post
Yes, you can do that. I much prefer this style fitting. Especially in the Mash Tun. You can slide the probe most of the way out for stirring and then push it back in.
what type of temp probe or thermometer do you use?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 06:08 PM   #4
OneHoppyGuy
Recipes 
 
Nov 2009
Concord, CA
Posts: 1,666
Liked 44 Times on 36 Posts


Depending on what the customer is ordering, we use Thermistors, RTDs and Thermocouples. We buy thermistors for BCS controllers from BrewersHardware. They make a 1/4" diameter probe and their work is top notch. For PIDs we prefer RTDs because of their accuracy. Whatever you buy, make sure it has a 1/4" diameter probe.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 06:09 PM   #5
H-ost
 
H-ost's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jul 2011
Bellevue, WA
Posts: 1,746
Liked 72 Times on 53 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by OneHoppyGuy View Post
Yes, you can do that. I much prefer this style fitting. Especially in the Mash Tun. You can slide the probe most of the way out for stirring and then push it back in.
I'm guessing you have used it during the mash like this before? The site warns to not make depth adjustments while hot liquid is in there, does that mean it is prone to leaking while you do that or have you had no issues?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 06:16 PM   #6
OneHoppyGuy
Recipes 
 
Nov 2009
Concord, CA
Posts: 1,666
Liked 44 Times on 36 Posts


I've never had an issue. Lucky so far??

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 07:28 PM   #7
builderguy
Recipes 
 
Jan 2011
Sacramento, CA
Posts: 91
Liked 3 Times on 1 Posts


I don't have any type of digital read out now. If I just want to monitor temp (not control) what should I get...including probe and everything?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 07:42 PM   #8
OneHoppyGuy
Recipes 
 
Nov 2009
Concord, CA
Posts: 1,666
Liked 44 Times on 36 Posts


Digital temperature display by Dwyer.
And probe

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 08:05 PM   #9
builderguy
Recipes 
 
Jan 2011
Sacramento, CA
Posts: 91
Liked 3 Times on 1 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by OneHoppyGuy View Post
The 110v PTC Thermistor one?

Sorry, kinda clueless when it comes to this stuff.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 08:08 PM   #10
builderguy
Recipes 
 
Jan 2011
Sacramento, CA
Posts: 91
Liked 3 Times on 1 Posts


Oh, and the probe that has the loose wires, or will there be an M8 connector on these displays?

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Digital Thermometer LarsonLE Equipment/Sanitation 3 07-07-2011 10:24 PM
digital thermometer tnbrewer371 Equipment/Sanitation 7 02-09-2011 11:49 PM
Digital Thermometer Steven9026 Equipment/Sanitation 1 02-01-2011 05:00 AM
Keggle, Thermometer, Thermowell - Temperature Issue phillc Equipment/Sanitation 13 11-03-2008 05:42 PM
Digital Thermometer Question.. Hawgbranch Equipment/Sanitation 9 08-28-2008 03:24 PM


Forum Jump