Coldbreak Brewing Giveaway - Open to All!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > will this GFCI panel work?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-10-2012, 06:20 PM   #1
NoCornOrRice
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Great White North
Posts: 223
Liked 17 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 29

Default will this GFCI panel work?

So being in Canada, many things are waaaaay more expensive than down south. This is by far the cheapest spa disconnect I can find at a respected retailer, and I'd rather not buy from some fly-by-night place:

http://www.homedepot.ca/product/50-a...a-buddy/901378

it's about $200 with tax

will it work placed between my control panel and the 4-wire dryer outlet?

Any fellow Canucks got a better deal? Those $77 copier cords are no longer available.

I have 50' of 10/4 SOOW


NoCornOrRice is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 04:48 PM   #2
TRG
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Posts: 63
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

I was at HD lastnight looking for one of these. Epic fail, none in stock. Still kinda miffed by the code/price. The difference between these and the $50 items that HD.com sells is these are 120 and 240, whereas the HD.com ones are 240V only...

I wish I could save the $150 and just run the $50 spa panel.

I'm not sure if there is any better option for us canuckians?


TRG is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 04:59 PM   #3
TRG
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Posts: 63
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Did a little digging...


This might save us some cash, CSA approved too!
TRG is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 05:57 PM   #4
NoCornOrRice
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Great White North
Posts: 223
Liked 17 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 29

Default

thanks,

I was looking at those, but I am leery of buying crucial safety equipment from somewhere that doesn't either have a storefront or is online but specialized in that type of stuff. EDIT: my bad, the link you posted has an online store describing itself as "a full service spa dealer and we service & supply accessories for residential & commercial swimming pools" good find!!



These guys ship from the Greater Toronto Area they are (edit: were) the current plan:

GFCI for spas, hot tubs Canada - The Hot Tub Super Store
NoCornOrRice is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 06:15 PM   #5
TRG
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Posts: 63
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

If its a new Siemens panel like it says it is, I don't think you have anything to worry about. This is why GFCI's have a test button, no?


TRG is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What guage wire from main panel to spa panel? AdamCanFly Electric Brewing 22 02-01-2012 03:36 AM
GFCI options... will this work? Lucky_Chicken Electric Brewing 5 12-01-2011 10:23 PM
Mounting spa panel guts in control panel kevink Electric Brewing 7 08-20-2011 02:31 AM
GFCI 30 amp cords extinct? Question on GFCI breaker too... jdlev Electric Brewing 23 07-26-2011 01:01 AM
Panel GFCI Breaker IrregularPulse Electric Brewing 13 03-23-2011 08:43 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS