Thermometer Readings in Keggle Setup - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Thermometer Readings in Keggle Setup

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-08-2012, 05:19 PM   #1
Jewrican
Recipes 
 
Aug 2008
GA
Posts: 882
Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts



I am doing all grain on a 3 tiered setup. My mash tun has a thermometer in it (in the wall of the keggle) reaching 4" or so into the mash tun. I am able to direct fire my mash tun and also have a pump to recirculate my mash.

On my last brew, I checked my temps and i was about a degree or two low, so I began to direct fire the mash tun. After a few minutes i was shocked i saw no difference in temp so i turned the heat up a bit. After about 10 minutes or longer i saw too much steam coming from the tun for this to be right. I threw another thermometer in there and read 165 and counting! After stirring it like mad to get the temps to come down and adding some cold water the thermometer in the tun read correctly again.

My thought is that the grain that was directly around the probe was insulating it and causing this reading to not change. I was not stirring the mash as i thought the recirc would be enough.

What are your thoughts? Is this common? What can I do to resolve this? I was so bummed out when i figured out what happened and am really concerned about the results.. only time will tell.
__________________
JewRican Brew Works

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 05:27 PM   #2
OneHoppyGuy
Recipes 
 
Nov 2009
Concord, CA
Posts: 1,666
Liked 44 Times on 36 Posts


How deep was the thermometer in to the mash?
How is your recirc wort being distributed over the mash?
It sounds like this is the first time you experienced this. Did you do anything different?

Sounds like the batch will come out on the sweet side.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 05:33 PM   #3
Jewrican
Recipes 
 
Aug 2008
GA
Posts: 882
Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by OneHoppyGuy View Post
How deep was the thermometer in to the mash?
It is about 2.5 gallons or so high but it is tricky (does that make sense?). I have a false bottom which is 2 gallons from the bottom of the tun. Then the thermometer is only about a half gallon above the bottom.
Quote:
How is your recirc wort being distributed over the mash?
it really is just being pumped on top of it. No stirring or anything like that being done.
Quote:
It sounds like this is the first time you experienced this. Did you do anything different?
This is the first time i have used this setup with my brew stand. I have not brewed on it previously so i am just getting used to it.

I am open to suggestions so feel free to throw them out there. I know that it takes time to get used to a brew rig.
__________________
JewRican Brew Works

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 05:50 PM   #4
RoadKing
 
RoadKing's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Oct 2005
Bayville, N.J.
Posts: 467
Liked 22 Times on 19 Posts


If your not automated with a few temp. sensors/ Thermometers, you should stir while boosting temps.
My set up sounds similar (2gals. under bottom) and the original probe was a half gallon or so above the false bottom. I didn't like it bieng that low, so I put another probe a few inches higher. I keep a analog thermometer in lower and digital in upper.
I stir every 15- 20 mins, anyway.
__________________
DIRTY GARAGE BREWING CO.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 07:13 PM   #5
Jewrican
Recipes 
 
Aug 2008
GA
Posts: 882
Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts


do you direct fire throughout the mash or do you insulate? If you insulate, what do you use? If reflectix, how many layers?
__________________
JewRican Brew Works

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 09:32 PM   #6
OneHoppyGuy
Recipes 
 
Nov 2009
Concord, CA
Posts: 1,666
Liked 44 Times on 36 Posts


Adding a thermometer temporarily to the line coming out of the keggle (a tee at your ball valve) for re-circulation might be helpful. It would notify you as to whether the heated wort is way out of range from the mash temperature.
Adding a thermometer or digital temperature sensor higher is a good idea.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 09:38 PM   #7
RoadKing
 
RoadKing's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Oct 2005
Bayville, N.J.
Posts: 467
Liked 22 Times on 19 Posts


I'm semi automated, I have a Ranco Temp probe at the pump which controls a selenoid gas valve.
For insulation I did a variation of THIS ,
I have a picture of the rig if you click my name.
__________________
DIRTY GARAGE BREWING CO.

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Keggle Thermometer dmcmillen Equipment/Sanitation 4 05-16-2011 04:02 PM
3 Keggle Setup vs 2 Keggle/Cooler MLT Setup NoisufnoC Equipment/Sanitation 8 01-18-2010 04:54 PM
Thermostat and in freezer thermometer has different readings. Tiako Equipment/Sanitation 8 11-22-2009 06:02 PM
Thermometer ( Keggle ) Mustangj Equipment/Sanitation 5 02-18-2008 05:21 PM
Thermometer for Keggle? El Pistolero Equipment/Sanitation 13 12-26-2005 04:56 AM


Forum Jump