Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > New to homebrew. Tips for high alcohol and good taste.

Old 01-06-2012, 12:26 AM   #1
xxjohn85xx
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default New to homebrew. Tips for high alcohol and good taste.

Hey. I'm new to home brewing. (still haven't bottled my first batch yet.) I am looking for tips to brew a high abv brew but with a good taste to it. Something at least 9-10%. I've been reading the joy of homebrew and it has me excited to try my own recipe just to experiment and have fun. I am curious to what types of combinations of malt extracts and sugars can be used. I hear 20% sugar is the limit or it can be cidery. Any help to boost that up without ruining the integrity of taste would be appreciated. Ha me and my friends like to drink so I'd love to pull out a great taste that will get them feeling it. Also what steeping grains and hops would also compliment, and is a secondary fermenter a good choice to have for this type of beer? Thanks for the tips.

Old 01-06-2012, 02:01 AM   #2
mike20793
Recipes 

Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 19

As a new brewer, are you brewing with extract or all grain? If you are using all grain, you could just increase your grain bill to increase abv. It is hard to give tips without specifying the style of beer you are searching for. High abv and good flavor come in many styles of beer. Since you are new (like me), I recommend looking for a recipe that suits your style. Homebrewtalk is awesome because it has plenty of threads where these subjects have been thoroughly discussed. It should be easy for you to find information. Good luck and cheers!

Old 01-06-2012, 02:05 AM   #3
hoppymonkey
Recipes 

Liked 11 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 1

As the guy above said it depends on the type of beer, but the two best tips I can give you for high gravity beers are

1. PATIENCE. Leave it alone.
2. Temp control during fermentation

Old 01-06-2012, 02:06 AM   #4
lumpher