Coldbreak Brewing HERMS Giveaway!

HomeBrewSupply AMCYL Brew Kettle Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Terminal strip rating
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-02-2012, 09:15 PM   #1
mazultav
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Fremont NH, NH
Posts: 85
Default Terminal strip rating

Do terminal strips need to able to handle my panels full 50a?


__________________
two pints homebrew
kegs...............none :(
carboys...........Brass Knuckle Ale, Rustic Black Porter
hopville.

"buy the ticket, take the ride, no sympathy for the devil."
-Hunter S Thompson
mazultav is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 09:21 PM   #2
mux
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Chicago, IL - Illinois
Posts: 1,878
Liked 67 Times on 55 Posts
Likes Given: 23

Default

Hopefully you use an inline fuse to protect your low watt equipment. Like this.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00076KW5U


mux is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 09:21 PM   #3
mux
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Chicago, IL - Illinois
Posts: 1,878
Liked 67 Times on 55 Posts
Likes Given: 23

Default

This will also allow you to down size your wire. Otherwise everything would have be wired
mux is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 09:24 PM   #4
mazultav
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Fremont NH, NH
Posts: 85
Default

I'm fusing the panel per PJs diagram

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20120102_162344.jpg
Views:	241
Size:	8.8 KB
ID:	42285
__________________
two pints homebrew
kegs...............none :(
carboys...........Brass Knuckle Ale, Rustic Black Porter
hopville.

"buy the ticket, take the ride, no sympathy for the devil."
-Hunter S Thompson
mazultav is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 10:28 PM   #5
mux
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Chicago, IL - Illinois
Posts: 1,878
Liked 67 Times on 55 Posts
Likes Given: 23

Default

Disregard my last post about wire size.
mux is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 10:46 PM   #6
Lucky_Chicken
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bloomfield, IA
Posts: 791
Liked 35 Times on 26 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

as long as your fuses are before your terminal block you should be fine up to the rating of the fuse
Lucky_Chicken is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 12:04 AM   #7
samc
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 5,423
Liked 62 Times on 58 Posts
Likes Given: 29

Default

I'd want to have my components rated to handle the potential load put upon them. What if you or someone else replaces a fuse at some point with the wrong size? Plan for all contingencies within reason.
samc is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 12:06 AM   #8
mazultav
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Fremont NH, NH
Posts: 85
Default

Any ideas where I can find 240v 50A terminal blocks?
__________________
two pints homebrew
kegs...............none :(
carboys...........Brass Knuckle Ale, Rustic Black Porter
hopville.

"buy the ticket, take the ride, no sympathy for the devil."
-Hunter S Thompson
mazultav is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 12:29 AM   #9
samc
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 5,423
Liked 62 Times on 58 Posts
Likes Given: 29

Default

Try Mcmaster.com
samc is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 01:24 AM   #10
cowboynate2005
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 12
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

I got mine off Ebay


cowboynate2005 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools



Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS