Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > two temp probes, one PID?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-01-2012, 12:39 AM   #1
Dgonza9
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Evanston, Illinois
Posts: 1,183
Liked 11 Times on 11 Posts

Default two temp probes, one PID?

The needles on my dial thermometers are sticking. I'm considering going digital with an RTD or thermocouple instead.

Is there a device that can just read the temperature of the thermocouples? I mean, I just want the readout, not a temperature controller.

Or can I wire two thermocouples to a single PID and use a selector switch?

Just looking to go digital to replace the dial thermometers as cheaply and nicely as possible. I have two vessels and neither is dedicated to a single purpose, hence two thermocouples.

Thanks.


__________________
On Tap: Belgian Barrel Aged Barleywine, Da Yooper's Oatmeal Stout, Breakfast Stout, Hop Your Face Off IIPA, Catcher in the Rye Saison, "Wino-head" Nelsin Sauvin Gumballhead.

Bourbon Barrel Duchesse De Bourgnone
Kegged:

Fermenting English Mild

on Deck: Lager?
Dgonza9 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 05:59 PM   #2
ehedge20
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Woodbridge, Virginia
Posts: 331
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Your Dial or Analog thermometers will be the most accurate reading you can get. Digital is great for controlling pumps and valves but brewers usually set these 2 or 3 degrees higher or lower to compensate for the difference between the digital readout and the analog thermometers as they rely on the Analog as their primary reading device.


ehedge20 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 06:39 PM   #3
JRems
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Mahopac, NY
Posts: 2,230
Liked 60 Times on 52 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default

I bought these.
Digital Temperature Meter for RTD PT100 Sensors (F/110) | eBay
They are what you are looking for. You hook up a rtd to them and they simply display temp. I haven't got them In the mail yet so I can't tell you about the quality.
JRems is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 06:56 PM   #4
wadefisher
Brew Meister
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
wadefisher's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lewistown / Dade City, PA / FL
Posts: 301
Liked 10 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRems View Post
I bought these.
Digital Temperature Meter for RTD PT100 Sensors (F/110) | eBay
They are what you are looking for. You hook up a rtd to them and they simply display temp. I haven't got them In the mail yet so I can't tell you about the quality.
Hey JRems, I liked the look of those, I just bought some. will post back when I recieve them.
__________________

www DrunkMonkeyBrewWerks dot com
wadefisher is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 09:36 PM   #5
Dgonza9
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Evanston, Illinois
Posts: 1,183
Liked 11 Times on 11 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wadefisher View Post
Hey JRems, I liked the look of those, I just bought some. will post back when I recieve them.
I bought a couple as well. As for the accuracy, I think the RTD is is pretty accurate more so than a thermocouple, from what I hear. Hey, if it's good enough for my RIMS tube it should be good for strike water and letting me know when I'm close to boiling.

Thanks for the tip on these.


__________________
On Tap: Belgian Barrel Aged Barleywine, Da Yooper's Oatmeal Stout, Breakfast Stout, Hop Your Face Off IIPA, Catcher in the Rye Saison, "Wino-head" Nelsin Sauvin Gumballhead.

Bourbon Barrel Duchesse De Bourgnone
Kegged:

Fermenting English Mild

on Deck: Lager?
Dgonza9 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RTD not registering temp changes HellBentBrewCo Electric Brewing 5 12-17-2011 12:46 AM
RTD Temp Probe - Off by >15 deg.??? KEG99 Electric Brewing 10 11-13-2011 04:44 PM
Wiring 2 temp probes to one PID. Possible? KEG99 Electric Brewing 10 09-16-2011 01:02 AM
BCS temp probe bullywee Electric Brewing 2 02-23-2011 03:34 PM
Selector switch to use one pic for two seperate element/probes StumpyJohnson Electric Brewing 23 11-24-2010 03:03 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS