Installing 240V in the garage - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Installing 240V in the garage

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-30-2011, 02:24 PM   #1
GreenBoneBrew
Recipes 
 
Nov 2011
Boston, MA
Posts: 87
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts



Hey guys, need your help today. I need to let the electrician know what style of 240V plug that I want installed in the garage and outback for the hottub. I plan on using both locations to brew and will be plugging into them both with the same extension cord. I not sure what NEMA ratings or amps (30A or 50A) to get. I was thinking that I turn and lock plug style would be good.

This a from the ground up build, starting with the house, then moving onto the BIAB brewing system later. So let your minds dream on this one.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 02:27 PM   #2
bf514921
Recipes 
 
Dec 2009
Central City
Posts: 279
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


Not sure about a plug suggestion, but most definatley 50a, you wouldn't need it for a biab system, but if you decided to do something later like a rimms system, you would have plenty of juice to run it without having to upgrade.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 03:26 PM   #3
mabrungard
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
mabrungard's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2011
Carmel, IN
Posts: 4,146
Liked 612 Times on 475 Posts


The 4 prong, 50a outlet would be most useful. Of course, that should be wired to cabling that can provide 50a capacity.
__________________
Martin B
Carmel, IN
BJCP National
Foam Blowers of Indiana (FBI)

Brewing Water Information at:
https://sites.google.com/site/brunwater/

Like Bru'n Water on Facebook for occasional discussions on brewing water and Bru'n Water
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Brun-...?ref=bookmarks

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 04:00 PM   #4
bf514921
Recipes 
 
Dec 2009
Central City
Posts: 279
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


plus it could run a welder when you start building all sorts of fun stuff

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 01:54 AM   #5
GreenBoneBrew
Recipes 
 
Nov 2011
Boston, MA
Posts: 87
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by bf514921 View Post
Not sure about a plug suggestion, but most definatley 50a, you wouldn't need it for a biab system, but if you decided to do something later like a rimms system, you would have plenty of juice to run it without having to upgrade.
That's what I was kinda thinking.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mabrungard View Post
The 4 prong, 50a outlet would be most useful. Of course, that should be wired to cabling that can provide 50a capacity.
How does the 4 prong outltet work? Is it set up for different configurations of 3 prong plugs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bf514921 View Post
plus it could run a welder when you start building all sorts of fun stuff
Did not think about that, but I am now. Are Lincoln and Miller TIG's typically 4 prong?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 01:04 PM   #6
Lucky_Chicken
 
Lucky_Chicken's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jul 2011
Bloomfield, IA
Posts: 795
Liked 37 Times on 27 Posts


4 prong outlet is 2 hots (180 degrees apart), one neutral, and one ground. The only thing that will plug into it is a 4 prong plug, you can get adapters to plug 3 prongs into it as the 3 prongs only have 2 hots and a ground.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 10:11 PM   #7
GreenBoneBrew
Recipes 
 
Nov 2011
Boston, MA
Posts: 87
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by jtsims21 View Post
4 prong outlet is 2 hots (180 degrees apart), one neutral, and one ground. The only thing that will plug into it is a 4 prong plug, you can get adapters to plug 3 prongs into it as the 3 prongs only have 2 hots and a ground.
Thanks for clearing that up. The 240V line coming to the house is going to be single phase correct? Also, if I wanted to run a 120V power tool or element off the 240V line, I could just use a transformer or converter?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 12:12 AM   #8
mux
 
mux's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2011
Chicago, IL - Illinois
Posts: 1,875
Liked 67 Times on 55 Posts


Yes you have a 3 wire single phase service.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 12:16 AM   #9
jeffmeh
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
jeffmeh's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2009
Posts: 2,147
Liked 210 Times on 180 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by GreenBoneBrew View Post
Thanks for clearing that up. The 240V line coming to the house is going to be single phase correct? Also, if I wanted to run a 120V power tool or element off the 240V line, I could just use a transformer or converter?
You can use one of the hot legs and the neutral to create some 120V outputs in your control panel.

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My 240V Build Thread ikonis Electric Brewing 25 11-21-2011 04:44 AM
240v Outlet Placement jhollist Electric Brewing 2 06-21-2011 04:38 PM
Installing 30A service questions HHP Electric Brewing 3 05-13-2011 08:43 PM
Extending a 240v line to attached garage? Psych Electric Brewing 18 04-19-2011 06:20 PM
Strange issue with 240v legs. 120v on both, no 240v Brewmoor Electric Brewing 5 12-03-2010 07:15 PM


Forum Jump