Coldbreak Brewing HERMS Giveaway!

HomeBrewSupply AMCYL Brew Kettle Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Installing 240V in the garage
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-30-2011, 02:24 PM   #1
GreenBoneBrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 87
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default Installing 240V in the garage

Hey guys, need your help today. I need to let the electrician know what style of 240V plug that I want installed in the garage and outback for the hottub. I plan on using both locations to brew and will be plugging into them both with the same extension cord. I not sure what NEMA ratings or amps (30A or 50A) to get. I was thinking that I turn and lock plug style would be good.

This a from the ground up build, starting with the house, then moving onto the BIAB brewing system later. So let your minds dream on this one.


GreenBoneBrew is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 02:27 PM   #2
bf514921
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central City
Posts: 311
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Not sure about a plug suggestion, but most definatley 50a, you wouldn't need it for a biab system, but if you decided to do something later like a rimms system, you would have plenty of juice to run it without having to upgrade.


bf514921 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 03:26 PM   #3
mabrungard
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
mabrungard's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Carmel, IN
Posts: 3,348
Liked 340 Times on 284 Posts
Likes Given: 30

Default

The 4 prong, 50a outlet would be most useful. Of course, that should be wired to cabling that can provide 50a capacity.
__________________
Martin B
Carmel, IN
BJCP National
Foam Blowers of Indiana (FBI)

Brewing Water Information at:
https://sites.google.com/site/brunwater/

Like Bru'n Water on Facebook for occasional discussions on brewing water and Bru'n Water
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Brun-...?ref=bookmarks
mabrungard is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 04:00 PM   #4
bf514921
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central City
Posts: 311
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

plus it could run a welder when you start building all sorts of fun stuff
bf514921 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 01:54 AM   #5
GreenBoneBrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 87
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bf514921 View Post
Not sure about a plug suggestion, but most definatley 50a, you wouldn't need it for a biab system, but if you decided to do something later like a rimms system, you would have plenty of juice to run it without having to upgrade.
That's what I was kinda thinking.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mabrungard View Post
The 4 prong, 50a outlet would be most useful. Of course, that should be wired to cabling that can provide 50a capacity.
How does the 4 prong outltet work? Is it set up for different configurations of 3 prong plugs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bf514921 View Post
plus it could run a welder when you start building all sorts of fun stuff
Did not think about that, but I am now. Are Lincoln and Miller TIG's typically 4 prong?
GreenBoneBrew is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 01:04 PM   #6
Lucky_Chicken
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bloomfield, IA
Posts: 791
Liked 35 Times on 26 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

4 prong outlet is 2 hots (180 degrees apart), one neutral, and one ground. The only thing that will plug into it is a 4 prong plug, you can get adapters to plug 3 prongs into it as the 3 prongs only have 2 hots and a ground.
Lucky_Chicken is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 10:11 PM   #7
GreenBoneBrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 87
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jtsims21 View Post
4 prong outlet is 2 hots (180 degrees apart), one neutral, and one ground. The only thing that will plug into it is a 4 prong plug, you can get adapters to plug 3 prongs into it as the 3 prongs only have 2 hots and a ground.
Thanks for clearing that up. The 240V line coming to the house is going to be single phase correct? Also, if I wanted to run a 120V power tool or element off the 240V line, I could just use a transformer or converter?
GreenBoneBrew is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 12:12 AM   #8
mux
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Chicago, IL - Illinois
Posts: 1,878
Liked 67 Times on 55 Posts
Likes Given: 23

Default

Yes you have a 3 wire single phase service.
mux is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 12:16 AM   #9
jeffmeh
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
jeffmeh's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,015
Liked 178 Times on 151 Posts
Likes Given: 24

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GreenBoneBrew View Post
Thanks for clearing that up. The 240V line coming to the house is going to be single phase correct? Also, if I wanted to run a 120V power tool or element off the 240V line, I could just use a transformer or converter?
You can use one of the hot legs and the neutral to create some 120V outputs in your control panel.


jeffmeh is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My 240V Build Thread ikonis Electric Brewing 25 11-21-2011 04:44 AM
240v Outlet Placement jhollist Electric Brewing 2 06-21-2011 04:38 PM
Installing 30A service questions HHP Electric Brewing 3 05-13-2011 08:43 PM
Extending a 240v line to attached garage? Psych Electric Brewing 18 04-19-2011 06:20 PM
Strange issue with 240v legs. 120v on both, no 240v Brewmoor Electric Brewing 5 12-03-2010 07:15 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS