Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > K type thermal couple and auber syl-2352
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-29-2011, 09:39 PM   #1
bf514921
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central City
Posts: 311
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default K type thermal couple and auber syl-2352

I went through and calibrated all my thermometers today, thinking that i was about to start making pislners and mistakes in temperature are harder to hide in this style. I have an electric hot liquor tank with a k type thermalcouple hooked up to an auber syl 2352. so to check/calibrate this thermometer i have 2 others that were already calibrated and used to measure the temperature in the hot liquor tank. the two calibrated thermometers were consistenly withing 2 degrees of each other. the k type hooked up to the 2352 was all over, and the offset (Pb variable on the controller) was different depending on the temperature i was measuring. it is not a consistent offset through the teperature range i a measuring. Is this typical for k type thermalcouples? or did i somehow mess mine up?



Reason: Corrected some misspellings to add clarity of question
bf514921 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 03:37 AM   #2
kskiles
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Southern NJ
Posts: 45
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

I am looking at using this controller to build a HLT also. Which length of probe are you using? I was thinking of using the 4" but am worried it will be in the way and get damaged.

Do you need a way to circulate the water to evenly distribute heat throughout the volume of water?


kskiles is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 01:19 PM   #3
hrafnkell
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Iceland
Posts: 50
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Did you cut the probe cable and add some sort of plug?
hrafnkell is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 02:40 PM   #4
Junkster
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: North Central, Ohio
Posts: 509
Liked 31 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

With my limited experience with thermocouples, I've found that one of the wires (I forget the alloy) can get brittle & break rather easily with flexing. This intermittent open will cause very erratic readings so it's something to double check. Also check whichever options need to be selected in the controller setup & polarity.
Junkster is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 03:10 PM   #5
passedpawn
Waste Allocation Load Lifter - Earth Class
HBT_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
passedpawn's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: ☼ Clearwater, FL ☼
Posts: 22,403
Liked 5021 Times on 2992 Posts
Likes Given: 4197

Default

If the PID itself is getting hot (or cold), or if hot air is blowing over the back of it, your readings might get skewed. There is a small diode just inside the vents (you might be able to see it) that is the cold junction. It needs to be at the same temperature as the thermocouple connector.
__________________
- Andrew
passedpawn is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 04:18 PM   #6
ohararp
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 66
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Bf I am running the same controller and doing a setup similar to Kal's. I am running K - type thermocouples as well and have had similar troubles. I might switch over to a single rtd to test the differences out.
ohararp is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 04:32 PM   #7
hrafnkell
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Iceland
Posts: 50
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Cutting thermocouple wires up (possibly to add connectors or lengthen the wires) will introduce error that can vary throughout the temperature range. Rtds are another thing altogether and the wire can be cut up almost as you please.

Bottom line: dont mess with tc wires :-)
hrafnkell is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 04:31 AM   #8
bf514921
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central City
Posts: 311
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

ok that makes sense somewhat. I bought a Special through bulkhead plug for my thermal couple. I cut the wre added the plug and female end. Also i am using the 4 in probe. i had a 2 inch but it was to short, my temp proble is mounted through a t fitting and into the HLT. I recently added a pump to my system and it mixes the hlt thoughroghly. My control mox is sealled, looks like i need a fan or something.

the small pot is the HLT, you can kinda see the thermalcouple where the sight gauge is and on my control box is my thermal couple plug
bf514921 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 04:16 PM   #9
Stevo2569
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: C-VILLE, Tn
Posts: 1,284
Liked 29 Times on 25 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hrafnkell
Cutting thermocouple wires up (possibly to add connectors or lengthen the wires) will introduce error that can vary throughout the temperature range. Rtds are another thing altogether and the wire can be cut up almost as you please.

Bottom line: dont mess with tc wires :-)
I am using a 2" K type braided with the 2352. I cut the connectors off and put a male/female panel plug on it. From the PID to the connector is copper stranded 14 gauge i think. I have consistent and accurate temp measurements in my RIMS system throughout the temp range. 60-215
__________________
Fermentation may have been a greater discovery than fire."
-David Rains Wallace


My Brewing Apparatus
Stevo2569 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 04:56 PM   #10
bf514921
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central City
Posts: 311
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

i am starting to think maybe it is my control box or something. my control box isn't cooled and it is sealed, hmm maybe its time for a rebuild. Do you think it could be related the box being sealed and heating up inside?


bf514921 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auber 2352 PIDs terrazza Electric Brewing 5 10-13-2011 10:17 PM
Help with Auber 2352 bendavanza Electric Brewing 3 08-16-2011 07:38 PM
Auber SYL-2362/2352 Comparison njbabs Electric Brewing 1 08-11-2011 04:53 PM
Help with Auber 2352 PID Navy_Brewer Electric Brewing 0 04-05-2011 07:38 PM
Auber 2352 vs. 2362 paledragon Electric Brewing 0 12-19-2010 02:24 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS