Coldbreak Brewing Giveaway - Winners Drawn!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Choosing the right size element
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-27-2011, 04:50 PM   #11
Blowntri5
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Camarillo, Ca
Posts: 104
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Yet another question. The cable that is coming from my breaker box and going to the garage has 4 wires. can I just put a breaker box in the garage and put in 220v?


Blowntri5 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2011, 06:58 PM   #12
jeffmeh
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
jeffmeh's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,011
Liked 175 Times on 150 Posts
Likes Given: 24

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blowntri5 View Post
Yet another question. The cable that is coming from my breaker box and going to the garage has 4 wires. can I just put a breaker box in the garage and put in 220v?
Not if it is being fed from a 120V breaker in the box. But if the wire is 10 gauge or larger (smaller numbers) you could potentially use it with a new 30amp 240V breaker to bring it to the garage. You would want either use a GFCI breaker, or a regular breaker with the Home Depot spa panel that you could use in the garage. That being said, it is not likely that you have 10 gauge wire going to a 120V 20A receptacle, as it is likely no larger than 12.


jeffmeh is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2011, 07:13 PM   #13
Blowntri5
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Camarillo, Ca
Posts: 104
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

I did some looking and the cable that is coming from the breaker box and going to the garage is a four wire cable. One of the wires say 12awg. So can I just put a breaker box in the garage and make 220v?
Blowntri5 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2011, 09:27 PM   #14
jeffmeh
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
jeffmeh's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,011
Liked 175 Times on 150 Posts
Likes Given: 24

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blowntri5 View Post
I did some looking and the cable that is coming from the breaker box and going to the garage is a four wire cable. One of the wires say 12awg. So can I just put a breaker box in the garage and make 220v?
Again, if you have a 20amp 120V breaker in the breaker box that feeds 12/4 wire to the garage, you only have 120V in the garage.
jeffmeh is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kettle size versus heater element size Hound Electric Brewing 6 03-21-2013 11:29 PM
Sizing a Heating Element by Batch Size bellinmi88 Electric Brewing 4 01-08-2013 04:05 AM
heating element thread size wegz15 Electric Brewing 8 07-29-2011 10:39 PM
What size Oring for heater element? bad coffee Electric Brewing 4 04-01-2011 02:39 PM
what size element needed to maintain temp twardnw Electric Brewing 5 01-28-2011 02:49 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS