Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > 220v panel with 110v option
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-27-2011, 12:58 AM   #1
mazultav
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Fremont NH, NH
Posts: 86
Default 220v panel with 110v option

Is there anything inherently dangerous about the following idea? I want to have a 110v input and output along with 220v so I can use my panel to control a smoker. Can I just have a 110v outlet wire to one of the same hot legs as the 220v coming into the panel and.another on the same hot leg controlled by the ssr?


__________________
two pints homebrew
kegs...............none :(
carboys...........Brass Knuckle Ale, Rustic Black Porter
hopville.

"buy the ticket, take the ride, no sympathy for the devil."
-Hunter S Thompson
mazultav is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2011, 01:49 AM   #2
mabrungard
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
mabrungard's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Carmel, IN
Posts: 3,393
Liked 343 Times on 286 Posts
Likes Given: 30

Default

With the appropriate GFCI breaker and wiring, there is no reason you can't or shouldn't run a separate 110v circuit from within your 220v panel. I'm doing that now with 220v running all the heater elements and 110v running the controllers, transformers, and pump.


__________________
Martin B
Carmel, IN
BJCP National
Foam Blowers of Indiana (FBI)

Brewing Water Information at:
https://sites.google.com/site/brunwater/

Like Bru'n Water on Facebook for occasional discussions on brewing water and Bru'n Water
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Brun-...?ref=bookmarks
mabrungard is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2011, 01:56 AM   #3
mux
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Chicago, IL - Illinois
Posts: 1,878
Liked 67 Times on 55 Posts
Likes Given: 23

Default

Do you have a neutral in your control panel?
mux is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2011, 10:50 AM   #4
mazultav
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Fremont NH, NH
Posts: 86
Default

Yes. Rather it will
__________________
two pints homebrew
kegs...............none :(
carboys...........Brass Knuckle Ale, Rustic Black Porter
hopville.

"buy the ticket, take the ride, no sympathy for the devil."
-Hunter S Thompson
mazultav is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2011, 12:06 PM   #5
TrainSafe
John Gage wannabe
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
TrainSafe's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Appleton, WI
Posts: 815
Liked 67 Times on 46 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

You will probably want to fuse that 120 circuit within your panel so that it doesn't need to be wired for 50a currents. That will allow you to use reasonably sized conductors for this circuit.
TrainSafe is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 10:33 AM   #6
mazultav
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Fremont NH, NH
Posts: 86
Default

I plan to have a 120 v 15A outlet in and out of the panel.
__________________
two pints homebrew
kegs...............none :(
carboys...........Brass Knuckle Ale, Rustic Black Porter
hopville.

"buy the ticket, take the ride, no sympathy for the devil."
-Hunter S Thompson
mazultav is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 11:54 AM   #7
jeffmeh
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
jeffmeh's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,021
Liked 180 Times on 153 Posts
Likes Given: 24

Default

Have you considered having only a 240V input, and using one of the hot legs and the neutral to create a 120V circuit, so you have both 240V and 120V outputs?
jeffmeh is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 03:08 PM   #8
mazultav
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Fremont NH, NH
Posts: 86
Default

I have. I thought having the 120 input would simplify things. I guess not
__________________
two pints homebrew
kegs...............none :(
carboys...........Brass Knuckle Ale, Rustic Black Porter
hopville.

"buy the ticket, take the ride, no sympathy for the devil."
-Hunter S Thompson
mazultav is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 03:27 PM   #9
mabrungard
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
mabrungard's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Carmel, IN
Posts: 3,393
Liked 343 Times on 286 Posts
Likes Given: 30

Default

240v operation can increase the power while reducing the amperage demand and the wire size. It is preferable for that reason. It does increase the watt density on the element, which might not be preferable. But, that's what a PID or PWM is for.
__________________
Martin B
Carmel, IN
BJCP National
Foam Blowers of Indiana (FBI)

Brewing Water Information at:
https://sites.google.com/site/brunwater/

Like Bru'n Water on Facebook for occasional discussions on brewing water and Bru'n Water
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Brun-...?ref=bookmarks
mabrungard is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 04:07 PM   #10
jeffmeh
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
jeffmeh's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,021
Liked 180 Times on 153 Posts
Likes Given: 24

Default

I think the only advantage to running a separate 120V input is if you could run the whole system with it for some application, and then would not need access to 240V. If you plan to have access to 240V anyway, I would use it to create a separate 120V circuit inside the panel.


jeffmeh is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools



Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS