Coldbreak Brewing HERMS Giveaway!

HomeBrewSupply AMCYL Brew Kettle Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > How hard is it to use a glass carboy as a primary for my first batch?

Old 12-25-2011, 01:26 AM   #1
agreen
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default How hard is it to use a glass carboy as a primary for my first batch?

I am currently a home brew noob in training. I am getting my kit and ingredients tomorrow for Christmas and breaking it out ASAP. I have probably over researched the entire process and was wondering if the extra work it takes to use a glass carboy as my primary would be worth the effort. Keep in mind this will be my very first batch and don't want to make this too challenging. However I am very determined to make something tasty right out of the gate. Any advice is helpful.

Thanks Fellas

Old 12-25-2011, 01:33 AM   #2
Butter
Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts

It's not hard at all to use a glass carboy. Just don't drop it. I've had mine for 15 yrs and haven't had an issue. Don't know who told you they're hard to use or whatever.

Old 12-25-2011, 01:44 AM   #3
djfriesen
Recipes 

Liked 26 Times on 24 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Not hard at all. Get a handle or, better yet, put it where you're fermenting before you put the wort in. I find it much easier to carry 5.5 gallons in an aluminum pot with handles than in a (slippery?) glass carboy.

There are a couple commercial options for handles, or, I have seen people use commercial-grade milk crates. They are very sturdy, have handles, and can keep objects from bumping against your carboy.

ALSO: NO HOT WORT IN GLASS. The thermal shock will break the glass and you will lose all your beer and risk serious injury from glass lacerations.

Old 12-25-2011, 01:52 AM   #4
helibrewer
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 291 Times on 248 Posts
Likes Given: 77