Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > BeerSmith2
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-24-2011, 07:36 PM   #1
C-Rider
Senior Member
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
C-Rider's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wai, Hawaii
Posts: 2,925
Liked 192 Times on 156 Posts
Likes Given: 494

Default BeerSmith2

Wow using the HELP button really works. LOL

Think I finally figured out how to set up my Equipment and Mash Profiles. Now things look so much more like what I actually do. One problem was my Mash Tun. I BIAB and the software assumes you will mash in your boil kettle not in a 5 gallon Colman cooler. 1 gallon difference in the two. Ah Ha! Lookin' good Steve!


__________________
Kaiser Ridge Brewing
-------------------------
Bottled in the refer: Am. Pale Ale(3/28)
Bottled in the refer: Am Imperial Stout(3/11)
Bottled in the refer: SN Celebration Clone
Bottled in the refer: Choc/Coffee Stout
Bottled in the refer: German IPA
Bottled in the refer: German Dry Stout
Bottled in the refer: Wai`anae SummerAle Ale
Bottled in the refer: GermanImperialStout
C-Rider is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 07:41 PM   #2
weirdboy
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 7,991
Liked 436 Times on 356 Posts
Likes Given: 63

Default

I think for BIAB in a cooler, I would just say you are using a cooler.


weirdboy is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 07:42 PM   #3
C-Rider
Senior Member
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
C-Rider's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wai, Hawaii
Posts: 2,925
Liked 192 Times on 156 Posts
Likes Given: 494

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by weirdboy View Post
I think for BIAB in a cooler, I would just say you are using a cooler.
Is there a link to change tht?
__________________
Kaiser Ridge Brewing
-------------------------
Bottled in the refer: Am. Pale Ale(3/28)
Bottled in the refer: Am Imperial Stout(3/11)
Bottled in the refer: SN Celebration Clone
Bottled in the refer: Choc/Coffee Stout
Bottled in the refer: German IPA
Bottled in the refer: German Dry Stout
Bottled in the refer: Wai`anae SummerAle Ale
Bottled in the refer: GermanImperialStout
C-Rider is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 09:46 PM   #4
weirdboy
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 7,991
Liked 436 Times on 356 Posts
Likes Given: 63

Default

Uh, just set your equipment to be 5 gallon round cooler + BK (whatever size you are using). I assume you know how to get to the equipment setup screen, since you have it set to BIAB now, right?

Go to Profiles, then click Equipment, and either click one of the appropriate "Pot and Cooler" combos listed if it exists, or else create a new profile with the equipment you have.

Then in your recipe, just select that as the brewing equipment profile to use.
weirdboy is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 12:57 AM   #5
Oddball
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 209
Liked 13 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

I have no idea what you are talking about...
Oddball is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 01:16 AM   #6
Oddball
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 209
Liked 13 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Nevermind, I didnt read the title and thought you were talking about something on this site...
Oddball is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 06:02 AM   #7
C-Rider
Senior Member
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
C-Rider's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wai, Hawaii
Posts: 2,925
Liked 192 Times on 156 Posts
Likes Given: 494

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by weirdboy View Post
Uh, just set your equipment to be 5 gallon round cooler + BK (whatever size you are using). I assume you know how to get to the equipment setup screen, since you have it set to BIAB now, right?

Go to Profiles, then click Equipment, and either click one of the appropriate "Pot and Cooler" combos listed if it exists, or else create a new profile with the equipment you have.

Then in your recipe, just select that as the brewing equipment profile to use.
Dang It! I never looked that far down on the list. Must be old age. Stopped w/the last BIAB listing.

Big Mahalo Weirdboy

OOPS The only choise is 5 gallon cooler and 7 gallon brew pot. Don't see how to adjust brew pot size. I have a 4 gallon brew bot.
__________________
Kaiser Ridge Brewing
-------------------------
Bottled in the refer: Am. Pale Ale(3/28)
Bottled in the refer: Am Imperial Stout(3/11)
Bottled in the refer: SN Celebration Clone
Bottled in the refer: Choc/Coffee Stout
Bottled in the refer: German IPA
Bottled in the refer: German Dry Stout
Bottled in the refer: Wai`anae SummerAle Ale
Bottled in the refer: GermanImperialStout
C-Rider is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 06:27 AM   #8
weirdboy
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 7,991
Liked 436 Times on 356 Posts
Likes Given: 63

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by C-Rider View Post
Dang It! I never looked that far down on the list. Must be old age. Stopped w/the last BIAB listing.

Big Mahalo Weirdboy

OOPS The only choise is 5 gallon cooler and 7 gallon brew pot. Don't see how to adjust brew pot size. I have a 4 gallon brew bot.
Right, so in that case you have to add an equipment profile. There is a big button at the top to do so. I think the default MLT size is 5 gallons, and it's set up to be like a cooler. For the smaller pot, you will have to uncheck the option that says "Calculate Boil Volume Automatically" and set it to something that will fit in your pot. Maybe 3 gallons or 3.25 gallons if you're feeling randy.
weirdboy is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 04:02 PM   #9
Teromous
Beer Gnome
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Teromous's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 2,850
Liked 504 Times on 273 Posts
Likes Given: 59

Default

For those of you who used to use BeerSmith, is there a huge difference in BS2? I see that there are improvements like tabs, the graphics, and it mentions that it automatically connects and updates ingredients, but have you guys found that any of the new features has significantly helped you? I saw that you mentioned the help function helps you out more, but I'm on the fence about getting it.
Teromous is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 07:40 PM   #10
C-Rider
Senior Member
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
C-Rider's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wai, Hawaii
Posts: 2,925
Liked 192 Times on 156 Posts
Likes Given: 494

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by weirdboy View Post
Right, so in that case you have to add an equipment profile. There is a big button at the top to do so. I think the default MLT size is 5 gallons, and it's set up to be like a cooler. For the smaller pot, you will have to uncheck the option that says "Calculate Boil Volume Automatically" and set it to something that will fit in your pot. Maybe 3 gallons or 3.25 gallons if you're feeling randy.
Hey thanks again. Really good Xmas present from you. Got it now, looks good.

Wife also gave me a 5 gallon SS pot for doing "double" batches. Been wanting to try to try different yeast on the same mash. Now I can.

Mele Kalikimaka to you Weirdboy


__________________
Kaiser Ridge Brewing
-------------------------
Bottled in the refer: Am. Pale Ale(3/28)
Bottled in the refer: Am Imperial Stout(3/11)
Bottled in the refer: SN Celebration Clone
Bottled in the refer: Choc/Coffee Stout
Bottled in the refer: German IPA
Bottled in the refer: German Dry Stout
Bottled in the refer: Wai`anae SummerAle Ale
Bottled in the refer: GermanImperialStout
C-Rider is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools



Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS