back sweetening & carbing cider

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

vekzero

Reaction score
Hey I have some quick questions. This week I am planning on bottling my 5 gallons of cider. I based my recipe off the Ed Wort's Apfelwein recipe, but instead of 2lbs of dextrose I used brown sugar & us 05 yeast. Also added a little cinnamon.

I wondering how back sweetening works. I made a test batch & it came out dry. For this one I plan on back sweetening it a little and carbing it.

How would I go about doing this? I'm still pretty new to homebrewing & I don't want bottle bombs.

I do the add sugar and bottle carb method. Seems to work fine. Now I'm wondering if the secondary sits a longer time will the yeast still be active enough to carbonate? Also, if I rack a couple times to get it clearer will that eliminate too much yeast to carbonate?

Now I'm wondering if the secondary sits a longer time will the yeast still be active enough to carbonate? Also, if I rack a couple times to get it clearer will that eliminate too much yeast to carbonate?
There will always be the ability to carb if you have not stabilized, pasteurized or cold crashed, and even cold crashing doesn't always get rid of it all.