Spa panel vs. Standard - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Spa panel vs. Standard

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-16-2011, 03:05 PM   #1
KitB
Recipes 
 
Dec 2011
Maple Grove, MN
Posts: 78
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts



I'm a little confused about whether I need a spa panel.
Is there any reason I can't add a 50 Amp GFCI breaker to my existing panel, if there's room?
Is there something better about using a remote spa panel?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2011, 03:25 PM   #2
52pickup
Recipes 
 
Dec 2010
Tucson, AZ
Posts: 58
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts


It's usually cheaper to buy the panel with the 50a breaker, than it is to buy just the GFCI breaker to fit your existing panel. The 50a spa panel w/breaker sells for around $50 at Home Depot.
__________________
Primary 1: Hurricane IPA
Primary 2: Empty
Kegged: BM's Centennial Blonde(round 2)
Falconers Flight Black IPA
Bottled: SAKE!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2011, 03:29 PM   #3
pvtschultz
Recipes 
 
Feb 2010
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Posts: 457
Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts


It's usually A LOT cheaper to buy a spa panel and wire it in than to add a separate GFCI breaker for some reason.
__________________
Brewing: Amber Ale, Dunkel
Drinking: Sour Brown, Schlitz...
On Deck: Berliner Weisse, Spotted Cow Clone, CAP...
2016 Gallons Brewed: 10 :(
Gallons Brewed '11-'15: 319

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f170/pvt...inally-298407/

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2011, 03:30 PM   #4
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Mar 2010
Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,336
Liked 302 Times on 235 Posts


Adding a GFCI breaker to your mains panel is A-Ok. You might be in for 'sticker shock' when you see the price of a GFCI breaker that fits your panel. A lot of them in the 30A or 50A (120v/240V) versions are more than $100. That is part of the reason that the Spa Panel becomes a popular item for us.

Another reason is if the brewery would be connected to an existing range or dryer outlet. Commonly, the range or dryer will not operate on a GFCI circuit. Also, if it was wired several years ago, the dryer circuit is 3 wire.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2011, 03:37 PM   #5
KitB
Recipes 
 
Dec 2011
Maple Grove, MN
Posts: 78
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts


Interesting...OK.
I had seen the crazy price difference.
Outrageous, really.

So, to power my spa panel, would I branch from an existing breaker, or would I wire directly from the incoming power?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2011, 03:58 PM   #6
audger
Recipes 
 
Apr 2011
., Connecticut
Posts: 1,497
Liked 43 Times on 42 Posts


most likely you will put it on its own breaker in your main panel, but there are several ways to do it. if you are unsure, you should ask an electrician to take a look. this isnt a particularly hard job to do, but if you dont do it correctly it can be very dangerous. definately do not put it directly on the incoming line to your house. it should be behind the main breaker, and then on its own sub-breaker so that it doesnt possibly trip power to your entire house.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2011, 05:24 PM   #7
KitB
Recipes 
 
Dec 2011
Maple Grove, MN
Posts: 78
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts


I guess I should have clarified...I did mean after the main breaker, for sure.
Thanks for the reply.
I'll definitely place it in my brew room, downstream from a sub-breaker.
There are 3 unused 240V breakers in my panel...I'll have to check the amperage, on those.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 04:00 PM   #8
KitB
Recipes 
 
Dec 2011
Maple Grove, MN
Posts: 78
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts


Can you please make a recommendation for size of the breaker upstream of the 50amp spa panel?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 04:17 PM   #9
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Mar 2010
Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,336
Liked 302 Times on 235 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by KitB View Post
Can you please make a recommendation for size of the breaker upstream of the 50amp spa panel?
That depends on the wire size and run to your intended location. The breaker in the main panel must be sized to protect the wire.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 04:21 PM   #10
KitB
Recipes 
 
Dec 2011
Maple Grove, MN
Posts: 78
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts


I guess I should have phrased that, a little differently.
Should my upstream breaker be sized equal or larger to the 50 amp GFCI breaker, rather than smaller?
I will be using 10 awg wire.

Hmmm...Forget it...I see that 10 awg only carries 30 amps.
Sorry for my ignorance.

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What guage wire from main panel to spa panel? AdamCanFly Electric Brewing 28 10-28-2016 11:15 AM
Mounting spa panel guts in control panel kevink Electric Brewing 7 08-20-2011 02:31 AM
Spa panel sagnew440 Electric Brewing 1 05-03-2011 08:33 PM
panel to spa panel wiring buffalobrewer Electric Brewing 4 11-29-2010 12:06 AM
Spa Panel $50 Scut_Monkey Electric Brewing 7 11-13-2010 10:48 PM


Forum Jump