Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Brew Stands > QD for temp probe?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-04-2011, 09:12 PM   #1
Crimsonwine
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 130
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default QD for temp probe?

I am building my Brutus and I have a pair of temp controllers I bought on eBay. I want to lengthen the cable and I would like to install panel mounted connectors.

I am not too familiar with these type of temp probes....other than I know the Sensor type is NTC (10K/3435)...

I assume the cable length/wire size does not matter? It would be nice to attach them via a panel mounted connector...which type would like good and work nicely? I attached a picture of my stand...

Thanks....



Crimsonwine is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 09:44 PM   #2
OneHoppyGuy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 1,704
Liked 44 Times on 36 Posts
Likes Given: 52

Default

Nice build
Here is what we use for probes and here is how we connect them:




And here is where we purchase them:
Brewers Hardware 1/4" Compression Fitting
Disconnects


OneHoppyGuy is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 09:47 PM   #3
OneHoppyGuy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 1,704
Liked 44 Times on 36 Posts
Likes Given: 52

Default

BTW, you may want to lower your burners a little
OneHoppyGuy is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 09:52 PM   #4
Crimsonwine
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 130
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Thanks...

So those temp probes will work for a "love" style controller?

as for the burners...yes...I just have them mounted high to finish out the build...they will be adjusted for proper height for brewing....
Crimsonwine is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 09:57 PM   #5
OneHoppyGuy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 1,704
Liked 44 Times on 36 Posts
Likes Given: 52

Default

Brewers hardware carries a variety of probes. And Derrin's products are top notch, that why we buy from him.
OneHoppyGuy is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 10:03 PM   #6
Crimsonwine
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 130
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Thanks..Ill contact him and see what he can do for me...

Crimsonwine is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 05:02 AM   #7
cobolstinks
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 229
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

im building probes now, for my netduino microcontroller. Are the probes in the picture above these? Brewers Hardware 4" Stainless Steel Temperature Probe End.

what sensors do you stick in there? LM35? Thanks!
cobolstinks is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 02:55 PM   #8
TipsyParrot0265
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: springfield, missouri
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crimsonwine View Post
Thanks...

So those temp probes will work for a "love" style controller?

as for the burners...yes...I just have them mounted high to finish out the build...they will be adjusted for proper height for brewing....
What is the proper height?
TipsyParrot0265 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 03:29 PM   #9
Crimsonwine
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 130
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TipsyParrot0265 View Post
What is the proper height?
That will depend on the brew kettles I use...I have not decided if I am going to go with converted kegs or SS brew kettles....
Crimsonwine is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 05:11 PM   #10
TipsyParrot0265
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: springfield, missouri
Posts: 12
Default

What I was wondering is, is there a proper height? do you want the flames just tickling the pot or in the flame color change? Is there a measurement I dont know


TipsyParrot0265 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BCS 460 Temp Probe bhamripper Fermenters 5 11-07-2011 01:15 AM
Temp controller probe arrangement hops2it Fermenters 10 07-26-2011 08:41 PM
Temp probe material? Kaz Brew Stands 1 12-06-2010 01:03 AM
BCS-460 Temp probe question bartjav Brew Stands 5 08-21-2010 04:14 PM
inline temp probe beerthirty Chillers and Stir Plates 11 07-11-2008 02:47 AM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS