no output from STC-1000 - Page 2 - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Fermenters > no output from STC-1000

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-04-2011, 06:56 PM   #11
janivar123
Recipes 
 
Apr 2011
porsgrunn norway, lol
Posts: 552
Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts


8 is hot out 7 is hot in (cooling)
neutral and ground should be connected directly, bypassing the controller
1 goes to 7, 2 goes direct to freezer
__________________
Nothing too interesting yet
deamonale
A work in progress just like my beer

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 03:53 PM   #12
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2005
Cary, NC
Posts: 10,987
Liked 101 Times on 89 Posts


Here's about as simple of a diagram as you will get. The black/white/green wires that are on the lower left corner are the power feed coming in from whatever cord you have plugged into the wall.



If you don't want heating capability then don't connect either of the wires that are on terminals 5 or 6 of the controller (and there is no need to break off the tab on the outlet either).

If you don't want cooling, then don't hook up the wires that are on terminals 7 and 8 of the controller (and there is no need to break off the tab on the outlet).
__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.

drakeskakes Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 07:00 PM   #13
Nanitebrewing
Recipes 
 
Dec 2011
Eugene, OR
Posts: 28

I'd like to wire mine directly onto the power cord for my freezer. I'm a little confused about how to do it. Does the neutral need to be wired in or just use the hot?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 09:35 PM   #14
raouliii
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
raouliii's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Aug 2011
Ponchatoula, LA
Posts: 1,015
Liked 118 Times on 102 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Nanitebrewing View Post
I'd like to wire mine directly onto the power cord for my freezer. I'm a little confused about how to do it. Does the neutral need to be wired in or just use the hot?
You'll need some type of enclosure. Both hot and neutral are needed to power the controller on terminals 1 & 2. Use terminals 7 & 8 to interrupt/switch the hot to the freezer.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 12:48 PM   #15
brewfreeordie
Recipes 
 
Feb 2012
manchester, nh
Posts: 85
Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts


I just got one of these myself. I'm really happy with the unit.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 05:56 PM   #16
gx1400
Recipes 
 
Apr 2012
Kansas City, Missouri
Posts: 52
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by cwi View Post
I remember the special "Circuits for Non-believers" class they had for you guys.
Did your controller not have a stick figure drawing of a switch on the sticker above the terminals?
You sir just made me smile remembering the days of college. Silly MEs

 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 01:05 PM   #17
twd000
Recipes 
 
Jul 2010
Tucson
Posts: 431
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by gx1400 View Post
You sir just made me smile remembering the days of college. Silly MEs
In my simple mind, every switch is a knife switch, since I can "See" it close the circuit

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 03:11 AM   #18
Brewsmack
Recipes 
 
Dec 2012
Posts: 84
Liked 9 Times on 7 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Walker View Post
Here's about as simple of a diagram as you will get. The black/white/green wires that are on the lower left corner are the power feed coming in from whatever cord you have plugged into the wall.



If you don't want heating capability then don't connect either of the wires that are on terminals 5 or 6 of the controller (and there is no need to break off the tab on the outlet either).

If you don't want cooling, then don't hook up the wires that are on terminals 7 and 8 of the controller (and there is no need to break off the tab on the outlet).
Thanks for the diagram. I was having the same issue.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2014, 12:15 AM   #19
Texastrooper
Recipes 
 
Mar 2012
Plano, TX
Posts: 61
Liked 10 Times on 5 Posts


Thanks. I fell for the same. Sorry but these instructions leave lot to be desired. But now it is working.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 07:51 AM   #20
Cardinal_Vintage
Recipes 
 
Feb 2014
Long Beach, CA
Posts: 14

Very helpful thread. The diagram on the STC is very deceiving.

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone know a cheap PID with analog output? kshuler Chillers & Stir Plates 32 02-06-2011 05:30 AM
PID Relay output driving an SSR? onelegout Brew Stands 9 09-01-2010 03:57 PM
Nothing on the output side of my SSR???? Krelja Brew Stands 10 06-22-2010 01:40 PM
SSR Heat Output? RonRock Brew Stands 9 02-08-2010 04:35 PM
Should I move my MLT Output to the bottom? Eigenmusic Kettles, Mash Tuns & Hot Liquor Tanks 1 09-24-2009 02:01 PM


Forum Jump