no output from STC-1000 - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Fermenters > no output from STC-1000

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-02-2011, 08:19 PM   #1
twd000
Recipes 
 
Jul 2010
Tucson
Posts: 431
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts



I bought two 110V STC-1000 controllers off eBay for my side-by-side fridge conversion. I got them wired into a box and turned it on. The default values are left as-is, so there is a 3 minute compressor delay where the cooling light blinks. After the delay, I hear the relay snap, the red light stays on and...nothing. I get no power to the switched outlet I wired to Unit #1, nor the bare leads I wired to Unit #2. I tried plugging in various electrical devices, fans, etc just to see if it would run them (haven't plugged in fridge yet).

The directions and sticker on the controller say 11V supply, 220V output (wouldn't that be impossible?). But I opened the box and the Zettler magnetics sticker clearly lists [email protected] AC.

So I'm confused. Should I expect my multimeter to read 100V across the output side once the red cooling light on on? I'm not getting any reading.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 08:21 PM   #2
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2005
Cary, NC
Posts: 10,987
Liked 101 Times on 89 Posts


It seems a common mistake for people to think that the two terminals on the relay (like, terminals 7 & 8 of the controller) act as a "power outlet", and they try to hook the hot and neutral lines of their fridge or heater to pins 7 & 8.

Is that what you did?
__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 08:43 PM   #3
janivar123
Recipes 
 
Apr 2011
porsgrunn norway, lol
Posts: 552
Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts


yep in other words the stc-1000 is one thermostat controller and 2 separate switches
7 and 8 is in and out...
__________________
Nothing too interesting yet
deamonale
A work in progress just like my beer

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 10:25 PM   #4
twd000
Recipes 
 
Jul 2010
Tucson
Posts: 431
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Walker View Post
It seems a common mistake for people to think that the two terminals on the relay (like, terminals 7 & 8 of the controller) act as a "power outlet", and they try to hook the hot and neutral lines of their fridge or heater to pins 7 & 8.

Is that what you did?
Yes, I hooked 7 to the white side of the power outlet, and 8 to the black side of the outlet. Is that not right? How should I be connecting it?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 10:28 PM   #5
samc
Recipes 
 
Aug 2008
Portland OR
Posts: 5,387
Liked 63 Times on 59 Posts


You use the terminals to interrupt the hot side, black usually if you do things right.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 10:53 PM   #6
twd000
Recipes 
 
Jul 2010
Tucson
Posts: 431
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts


OK, I found a wiring diagram that matches what you described - you have to talk real slow and use small words around us Mechanical Engineers ;-)

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 02:56 AM   #7
cwi
Registered User
Recipes 
 
Jun 2010
Austin
Posts: 845
Liked 34 Times on 28 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by twd000 View Post
OK, I found a wiring diagram that matches what you described - you have to talk real slow and use small words around us Mechanical Engineers ;-)
I remember the special "Circuits for Non-believers" class they had for you guys.
Did your controller not have a stick figure drawing of a switch on the sticker above the terminals?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 03:57 AM   #8
twd000
Recipes 
 
Jul 2010
Tucson
Posts: 431
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by cwi View Post
I remember the special "Circuits for Non-believers" class they had for you guys.
Did your controller not have a stick figure drawing of a switch on the sticker above the terminals?

yeah, in fact it did have a diagram. Same one you see here in the bottom right corner. http://www.rise.com.hk/ebayproducts/...oller_mini.pdf

Being an ME, I interpreted it literally like a plumbing diagram and hooked up A to B...

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 04:35 AM   #9
cwi
Registered User
Recipes 
 
Jun 2010
Austin
Posts: 845
Liked 34 Times on 28 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by twd000 View Post
yeah, in fact it did have a diagram. Same one you see here in the bottom right corner. http://www.rise.com.hk/ebayproducts/...oller_mini.pdf

Being an ME, I interpreted it literally like a plumbing diagram and hooked up A to B...
So that's how the three stooges got the water to come out of the chandelier when the light switch was flipped. Always wondered about that.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 03:03 PM   #10
nutsok
Recipes 
 
Nov 2011
Posts: 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by twd000 View Post
yeah, in fact it did have a diagram. Same one you see here in the bottom right corner. http://www.rise.com.hk/ebayproducts/...oller_mini.pdf

Being an ME, I interpreted it literally like a plumbing diagram and hooked up A to B...
I too did the same thing but I am not using or making a whole electrical box. Can you dumb this down for me even more. I'm only using this for cooling so I'm wiring it straight in. From my wall outlet, I have that power cable going to 1 and 2 of the controller. And I have 7 and 8 going to the freezer. (1 & 8 are hot, 2 & 7 are the nuetrals) Please tell me how to set this up.

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone know a cheap PID with analog output? kshuler Chillers & Stir Plates 32 02-06-2011 05:30 AM
PID Relay output driving an SSR? onelegout Brew Stands 9 09-01-2010 03:57 PM
Nothing on the output side of my SSR???? Krelja Brew Stands 10 06-22-2010 01:40 PM
SSR Heat Output? RonRock Brew Stands 9 02-08-2010 04:35 PM
Should I move my MLT Output to the bottom? Eigenmusic Kettles, Mash Tuns & Hot Liquor Tanks 1 09-24-2009 02:01 PM


Forum Jump