Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > BCS460 Float switch question
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-02-2011, 06:16 PM   #1
Bsquared
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Bsquared's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,828
Liked 57 Times on 52 Posts
Likes Given: 22

Default BCS460 Float switch question

So I am putting the final touches on my eHERMS system this weekend. I'm still waiting on my convoluted copper coil for the heat exchanger, but the last of the electrical equipment arrived last night. Two SS 90 float switches, one for the HLT, and one for the kettle.

Initially I was thinking I would wire the output from the BCS to the SSR controlling the heating element through the float switches interrupting the signal to the SSR if there is not enough liquid in the tank or kettle, but then I was thinking I COULD run the switches as a discrete input, and assign it in the software to be on for the elements to be on.

I cant think of any benefit to using the float switch as a DIN, rather than an interrupt to the output of the BCS. I can only think this would use up two DIN positions that could be used for other functions in the future.

Can any one think of a reason to use the float switch as a DIN vs a interrupt to the output?


Bsquared is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 06:31 PM   #2
JonW
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
JonW's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Huntington Beach ☼
Posts: 1,628
Liked 130 Times on 82 Posts
Likes Given: 56

Default

If it is strictly for cutting power to the heating element, then I see no reason to not wire it inline.

If however, you also need to advance states, stop a pump, start a timer, or some other logic at the same time, then it should be on a DIN so you can do those multiple actions.


__________________
Surf City Brewing (TM)

My Single Tier, 3 Pump, BCS-462, Brutus Build:..... [LINK]
My customized BCS-462 controller web interface:.. [LINK]
My 8 tap, 11 keg, upright Keezer build:.................... [LINK]
JonW is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 06:35 PM   #3
weirdboy
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 7,991
Liked 436 Times on 356 Posts
Likes Given: 63

Default

The only reason I can think of is so you can get some feedback on the state in the GUI, if you were, for example, operating your brewery from a different location than just standing in front of it.

At least, I'd want to know if my vessel was empty when I wasn't expecting it to be...
weirdboy is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 08:50 PM   #4
Bsquared
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Bsquared's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,828
Liked 57 Times on 52 Posts
Likes Given: 22

Default

Thanks, this is what I was thinking, and It will keep two of my DINs free to control other things. I don't plan on automating much more than I have and I plan on being present the whole time I'm brewing.
Bsquared is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 06:52 AM   #5
ballz50401
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ballz50401's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Mason City, IA
Posts: 179
Liked 17 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 29

Default

Old thread...but you could use it as a DIN to switch off a pump if the vessel level got too low to prevent the pump from running dry.
__________________
417 Brewing
Easy & Cheap Stainless Vent Hood
Kegged: Midnight Session IPA, Mai(effing)bock, Miserable Mild Ale, Aussie Wheat, Dry Irish Stout, Zombie Sue APA
Primary: Bender Brown Ale, India Red Ale
Secondary: None
Furture Brews: Chocolate Milk Stout, Furious IPA, Batch #100 RIS
ballz50401 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 07:50 PM   #6
Bsquared
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Bsquared's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,828
Liked 57 Times on 52 Posts
Likes Given: 22

Default

Now that I have a dozen or so batches with this system, I think I'm going to do a little rewiring. I think Im going to keep the kettle as interrupted, but for the HLT Im going to set it up through the DIN, so I can associate the float switch to a buzzer so i will know when my HLT is almost empty during the sparge. I might add a switch to the kettle too that will monitor when the kettle is full. I over shot my kettle fill last brew by a gallon, the + more beer, the - the babying of the boil before the hot break.

Also Im going to swap out my 3 pin XLR quick disconnects with 4 pin, and rout the float switch through the XLR quick disconnects.


Bsquared is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick disconnect temperature sensor for BCS460 wardenwheat Electric Brewing 13 06-27-2012 04:07 AM
Switch Contact Block Question iijakii Electric Brewing 3 11-23-2011 09:55 PM
Heating Element Switch Question JrZyBud Electric Brewing 9 05-19-2011 06:24 PM
power switch question doulovebeef Electric Brewing 6 01-06-2011 01:32 AM
Simple switch question wilceaser Electric Brewing 2 11-18-2010 04:22 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS