GFCI options... will this work? - Home Brew Forums
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > GFCI options... will this work?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-01-2011, 02:30 PM   #1
Lucky_Chicken
Recipes 
 
Jul 2011
Bloomfield, IA
Posts: 795
Liked 37 Times on 27 Posts



I have been looking for GFCI options for the 50A service I am hooking up to for my new electric system. What I have found so far is they dont exist or they are outragiously expensive. Will something like this work, I am not even sure how it works. I think it goes inline and all it does is GFCI?

Leviton GFCI Breaker High Current GFCI 240V

If this will work i could mount it in a box attached to the back of the control panel, then I can still roll my rig to either of my plugs.



 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 02:47 PM   #2
Crossczek
Recipes 
 
Feb 2008
Saline, MI
Posts: 11

I saw these too, and am wondering the same question(s)!


__________________
Drinking is not the answer.
It's the question.
"Yes!" is the answer.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 03:20 PM   #3
lazybean
Recipes 
 
Sep 2009
San Diego
Posts: 177
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


Never seen that one before, but from the description on Levitons website. It is only rated for 20 amps, but can sense 240 volt. you have to use a contactor to get a higher amp rating.

IMO a 'Spa GFCI Disconnect" would be your best option.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 03:29 PM   #4
Bobby_M
Vendor and Brewer
HBT_SPONSOR.png
 
Bobby_M's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Aug 2006
Whitehouse Station, NJ
Posts: 23,149
Liked 1622 Times on 1050 Posts


The fact that the spa panel is the same price but also gives you enclosure makes it pretty attractive. Not to mention that it's another point of safety disconnect that you can manually operate if you had to.
__________________
Welcome to BrewHardware.com. I love you.
BIAB Large Mesh False Bottoms and SS HERMS COILS are IN!!
Chugger Pumps, Pump Kits, Camlocks, Sightglasses, Clear USA made Silicone Tubing, RIMS, Electric Install Parts, etc.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 06:31 PM   #5
Lucky_Chicken
Recipes 
 
Jul 2011
Bloomfield, IA
Posts: 795
Liked 37 Times on 27 Posts


If I am already going to have a 50A contactor as a main power relay this should still work right? The only difference is that there would still be power to the control panel box if it tripped or am I missing something else?

I see the bennifit of a spa panel in that your GFCI break is farther from your brew area. Is there another bennifit I am missing to not having your GFCI in the same enclosure?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 10:23 PM   #6
lazybean
Recipes 
 
Sep 2009
San Diego
Posts: 177
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


Everything on the supply side is unprotected. If one of the suplly wires shorts to the enclosure, GFCI will not protect you. If you incoming power cable gets exposed (or something cuts into it) your GFCI will not protect protect you.

A GFCI Breaker located as far up stream is the safest way to go. If its $60 ether way, go with the Spa GFCI. IMO



 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do I really need a GFCI if.. Yorg Electric Brewing 10 07-27-2011 11:18 PM
GFCI 30 amp cords extinct? Question on GFCI breaker too... jdlev Electric Brewing 23 07-26-2011 01:01 AM
GFCI and etc. aperk Electric Brewing 8 06-05-2011 11:39 PM
Gfci? rod734 Electric Brewing 9 04-26-2011 04:48 PM
Odd GFCI Connections? ScubaSteve Electric Brewing 48 04-06-2011 01:20 PM


Forum Jump