Coldbreak Brewing Giveaway - Open to All!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Help on wiring
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-26-2007, 07:41 PM   #1
attitude
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
attitude's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: McKinney TX
Posts: 194
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Help on wiring

Has anyone wired up a Johnson Controls A19ABC-24 temperature control to a chest freezer? I don't know a thing about this stuff. Thanks for any help


__________________
Attitude Beer Co.
attitude is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2007, 07:56 PM   #2
DesertBrew
You're not my type
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
DesertBrew's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 5,630
Liked 104 Times on 92 Posts
Likes Given: 218

Default

Nope, but I could tell you the improper way to wire in a Ranco; and then the correct way . Got any online schematics?


DesertBrew is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2007, 08:06 PM   #3
Bobby_M
Vendor and Brewer
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
 
Bobby_M's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Whitehouse Station, NJ
Posts: 22,702
Liked 1265 Times on 834 Posts
Likes Given: 34

Default

Easy. Break the powerline in the chest freezer and attach to the Y and R terminals. These are open on low temp, close on high temp. That is, they connect the freezer back to the power source when the temp hits you upper limit.

http://cgproducts.johnsoncontrols.co...DF/1927010.pdf


I talk a little about how I wired mine (not the exact model) in the part 1B video in my sig.

Note, if you want to use the controller for heating in the winter, you can use the other terminal since it's a close on low.
__________________
Welcome to BrewHardware.com. I love you.
New 100% Stainless Steel Heating Elements are IN! ULWD 5500w Ripple, 2000w, 1500w, etc
Chugger Pumps, Pump Kits, Camlocks, Sightglasses, Clear USA made Silicone Tubing, RIMS, Electric Install Parts, etc.
July 4th Sale, $20 off plate chillers through July 4th.

Bobby_M is online now
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2007, 01:59 AM   #4
fsciuto2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9
Default

This doesn't help me much as an "electrically challenged" person. I just won the same model on ebay assuming it was wired. I don't even know where to start. I got the thing open, but I imagine I need to buy another part so that I can plug the fridge in.

But then how do I get from the temp. control to the wall? I've wired an electric outlet before, so I know what the 3 different wires do, but have no idea on the names or letters associated for each wire. I essentially indentify them by color.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Please limit the techy language. Better to begin post with "look moron, you take the black wire..."

Thanks,

Frank
fsciuto2 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2007, 04:30 AM   #5
CodeRage
Death by Magumba!
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
CodeRage's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Melbourne, Fl
Posts: 2,254
Liked 40 Times on 20 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

Look moron, you take the black wire and... Sorry couldnt resist

Seriously though, open up the the cable going to the fridge and see if they are black, white, and green. If so cut the black wire and tie the plug side of the cable to terminal Y of the controller. Then take the other side of the wire comming from the fridge and wire it to the R terminal of the controller. You may have to splice in some extra lengths of black wire to get enough room.

If you dont have black, white, and green then find the wire going to the skinny terminal of the plug, If you are looking at the plug with the pins facing towards you and the ground pin on the bottom it will be the one on the left.

I hope that clears it up for yah!
CodeRage is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2007, 01:29 PM   #6
Sea
Green Flash IPA on tap
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Sea's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 1,480
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default

The easiest way is to find the thermostat on the frige/freezer, unplug the two wires atatched to it and wire them into Y and R terminals. mount the control on the frige/freezer, not the wall. Make sure unit is unpluged first. Drill a hole through the wall of the unit, being careful not to hit any refrigeration tubing or existing wiring, and insert prbe into interior of unit.
Sea is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2007, 01:30 PM   #7
Beerthoven
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Beerthoven's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 2,180
Liked 12 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

When I wired my controller I didn't cut the power cord to the freezer.

Instead, I wired the controller with an extension cord. I just plug the cord into the wall and freezer into the cord. Works the same way.

This way I can move the controller if I want to and haven't permanently modified my freezer.
__________________

Primary/Secondary: --
Kegged: #119 American Brown, #120 American Pale
Planned: IPA, Wheat

Beerthoven is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2007, 11:23 PM   #8
fsciuto2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9
Default

Thanks everyone.

brloomis,
your way sounds the most practical but I'm still a little unclear. Does this mean you take an extension cord, cut it in half, and then wire the Johnson between the male and female ends:

fridge >female end ext. cord > temp. controller > male end ext. cord > wall

???

I'm really sorry, I feel like an idiot. Does someone have pictures?

Frank
fsciuto2 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2007, 01:21 AM   #9
RadicalEd
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 763
Liked 12 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Ask and ye shall receive!



Hope that helps!
RadicalEd is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2007, 01:24 AM   #10
fsciuto2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9
Default

That makes perfect sense radicalel. Thank you all for your help.

I'll let you know how my first lager comes out.


fsciuto2 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BCS-460 and SSR wiring help! cyberbackpacker Brew Stands 8 10-24-2009 08:40 PM
Need help with wiring barnbrew Brew Stands 2 10-02-2009 02:52 AM
38DD wiring surfbrewer General Techniques 2 05-25-2008 02:21 PM
Ranco Wiring Jonnio Bottling/Kegging 5 05-08-2008 09:02 PM
Ranco wiring...?? hmm...?? Jester Equipment/Sanitation 4 05-17-2006 02:20 AM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS