Bonus Season... time to upgrade the brew rig (50A 2 tier RIMS) - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Bonus Season... time to upgrade the brew rig (50A 2 tier RIMS)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-27-2011, 08:58 PM   #1
Lucky_Chicken
 
Lucky_Chicken's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jul 2011
Bloomfield, IA
Posts: 795
Liked 37 Times on 27 Posts



So... we got a bonus this year, so the wife said I should do something for me. That means building an all electric rig so I can brew indoors in bad weather. I will keep this updated with my progress.

What I am thinking so far:
5500W keggle for the boil run on a PWM circuit
2000W? RIMs tube run on a PID from my current plastic cooler MT
5500W keggle for the MLT on a PID circuit

I may try to control the output to the two 5500W elements so I can run them both at partial power?

I will be building the stand out of wood and sealed with some deck stain. I thought about using an old computer case for the control panel (but it wont be water proof) not sure if I will, but that would allow low voltage controls for cheep since it already has a power supply.

So far the only things I have on order is the stuff to set up the PWM circuit. I am working on a wiring diagram and a brew stand layout, I will post them when I like them.

Let me know your thoughts or what you would do differently on yours. Thanks ahead of time!

Reason: spelling

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 09:47 PM   #2
Lucky_Chicken
 
Lucky_Chicken's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jul 2011
Bloomfield, IA
Posts: 795
Liked 37 Times on 27 Posts


what I am thinking on the control panel layout... might be a mirror image depending on how I lay out the stand



plumbing layout...



sorry for any confusion... I'm not exactly a "ProExcel" artist

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 02:03 PM   #3
Lucky_Chicken
 
Lucky_Chicken's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jul 2011
Bloomfield, IA
Posts: 795
Liked 37 Times on 27 Posts


would this work for a 50A contactor for the main power relay, since we are dealing with resistave loads?

DP Contactor by VALUE BRAND - Magnetic Contactors by Zoro Tools Industrial Supplies

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 02:27 AM   #4
Lucky_Chicken
 
Lucky_Chicken's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jul 2011
Bloomfield, IA
Posts: 795
Liked 37 Times on 27 Posts


first crack at the wiring diagram... let me know if you all see any issues... don't laugh at my paint skills



for simplicity i left out the wiring diagrams that are elsewhere on here for the amp meter and the PWM... Thanks to those who posted them!! I will borrow shamelessly.

Will it be a problem that everything runs off of one leg to be caught by the amp meter... should some be run off the other leg?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 01:03 AM   #5
Lucky_Chicken
 
Lucky_Chicken's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jul 2011
Bloomfield, IA
Posts: 795
Liked 37 Times on 27 Posts


Parts have started to arrive...



therefore I had to start working on it... started with the PWM circuit. Who knew I could solder... well at least the first couple looked good.











Something I learned... drinking and electronic assembly doesn't work too well as much as I hate to say it.

now its just waiting on the SSR to get here and some modification to my power supply so I can test it!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 09:40 AM   #6
trigger
 
trigger's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Aug 2010
portland
Posts: 629
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts


I'm sad nobody has at least given some encouragement yet.

On your diagram, you have the on/off switches for all 3 elements breaking the SSR's control circuit. If one of your ssr's fails closed it'll leave your element powered up. You've got an e-stop, but I would recommend moving those switches to a/the (depending on the element) hot leg between the SSR and element. Also, I'd use the switch to control a mechanical relay that actually closes the element circuit. It keeps you fomr switching the full load power (you can use a smaller control current/voltage to operate the relay, just in case).

One other comment, you don't have any circuit protection in there. You should add appropriately sized fusing or breakers. It's really not 100% necessary, so long as you use wires, switches and lights capable of carrying the full current, but wiring that thing up with 8ga throughout will be a bear. If you throw some fuses in there you'll be able to use much lighter ga wire to power the pid's, power supplies, and basically everythign but the elements. Makes for a cleaner and less frustrating job.

If you want check this out. I'm not saying that you should follow it, but it shows how I wired up my panel.
__________________
The power to tax, once conceded, has no limits; it contains until it destroys. I was not joking when I told them to dig into their own pouches. It may not be possible to do away with government sometimes I think that government is an inescapable disease of human beings. But it may be possible to keep it small and starved and inoffensive and can you think of a better way than by requiring the governors themselves to pay the costs of their antisocial hobby?

R. A. Heinlein

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 02:30 PM   #7
Lucky_Chicken
 
Lucky_Chicken's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jul 2011
Bloomfield, IA
Posts: 795
Liked 37 Times on 27 Posts


I am planning on fuses but didnt put them in the drawing.

The element on indicator will identify if the ssr fails open, letting me know the element is on. I will look into contactors for each element, what size enclosure would you recommend? I am afraid I will run out of room on a fairly large enclosure with what I have now.

nealperkins Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 11:59 PM   #8
smpow
Recipes 
 
Jun 2010
POW
Posts: 36
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


Cool - congrats on the bonus and have fun building.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 02:55 PM   #9
Lucky_Chicken
 
Lucky_Chicken's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jul 2011
Bloomfield, IA
Posts: 795
Liked 37 Times on 27 Posts


weekend work update...

I got more parts in, still missing fuses and the contactor that was sugested. I have been off the ball and havent ordered the PID's yet, so I am starting with everything else. Here is what I have so far.

Laying out the panel so I will have enough space for the PIDs


first switches mounted


everything but the SSR mounted (waiting for the contactor to make sure I have enough room) wiring started... My wire routing will not look nearly as nice as some others!


let me know your thoughts... should be able to start on the sculpture this week and keg modification.

I still have to figure out what I want to use for a HLT, any sugestions are welcome. I have an aluminum turkey frier that I thought about using (then wont be able to fry turkeys) or a 7.5 gallon ss brew pot. Both would need a bunch of mods.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2011, 05:45 AM   #10
Bensiff
 
Bensiff's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Mar 2008
, Washington, the state
Posts: 4,893
Liked 384 Times on 303 Posts


Looking good. The only thing I can say that might be useful (as I'm learning about everything for an electric rig myself) is that regulator (LM317?) on your PWM could probably benefit from a heatsink. I've used a couple of those on stir plate builds and they get pretty hot. I just tossed on a little heatsink I found at radioshack.

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A 3-Vessel 2-Tier 1-Pump E-RIMS for 30A Quaffer Electric Brewing 65 01-25-2012 12:02 AM
My Brewmation/Penrose electric brew setup running for the first time (video) wedge421 Electric Brewing 17 12-31-2011 02:32 PM
Herms - rims dukes7779 Electric Brewing 2 09-20-2011 09:26 PM
HLT and RIMS Questions mykayel Electric Brewing 4 07-12-2011 11:42 PM
Looking for One Stop shop for RIMs electrical Rims Components kegtoe Electric Brewing 4 12-26-2010 03:10 AM


Forum Jump