Ss Brewtech’s Biggest Baddest Holiday Giveaway Ever!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > gfci circuit with welder
Thread Tools
Old 11-25-2011, 06:21 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 196
Liked 15 Times on 13 Posts

Default gfci circuit with welder

I was going to run my elecric this weekend for my rig. 50 amp gfci mounted in the circuit panel, 6 guage wire with ground and a neutral. I wanted to run my welder off of the same circiut, of course not at the same time I brew. My brother brought up the question if the welder would cause a lot of false trips, etc. of the gfci. Doing research on the web has all kinds of answers. Some people say you can't do it, others say no problem. With so many pro diy'ers here, I am sure someone knows the answer.

gunmetal is offline
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 06:39 PM   #2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: milwaukee
Posts: 244
Liked 30 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 9


was told by a steamfitter that a welder wont run on a gfi

crash1292 is offline
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 08:59 PM   #3
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Diego
Posts: 177
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


depends on the welder. GFCI work by measuring any imbalance between electricity going out and coming back. A basic Stick welder (buzz box) does not isolate incoming and the welding circuit, allowing the ground as a return path which trips the GFCI. With MIG and TIG welders, it depends on the type. while i have not tested it out, the new electronic ones should run on GFCI.

A work around is replace the panel breaker with a regular 50 amp, use the GFCI 50 in a "spa disconect' with a cord you plug into the welding outlet.
lazybean is offline
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 09:20 PM   #4
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 158
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 1


I have no problems running my Hobart MIG & Miller TIG off of a 50 amp gfci.
BigBobsBrews is offline
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 11:06 PM   #5
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Schererville, Indiana
Posts: 62
Likes Given: 3


My lincoln MIG runs just fine on a GFCI.

danmdevries is offline
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Circuit Bee clearwaterbrewer Electric Brewing 0 07-28-2011 08:13 PM
Pwm circuit trouble lschiavo Electric Brewing 13 07-26-2011 05:49 PM
GFCI 30 amp cords extinct? Question on GFCI breaker too... jdlev Electric Brewing 23 07-26-2011 01:01 AM
Interrupt circuit help please... burbelly Electric Brewing 19 02-22-2011 09:40 PM
Why only a single gfci main supply, but no individual circuit protection??? MonkeyWrench Electric Brewing 16 11-15-2010 04:56 AM

Forum Jump

Newest Threads