how do i use a PID? - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > how do i use a PID?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-23-2011, 10:15 PM   #1
A4J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
A4J's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Mar 2008
the Desert, CA
Posts: 1,348
Liked 30 Times on 25 Posts



This is an extremely noob question and I'm almost embarrassed to post it.

I'm basically trying to copy the countertop brutus using the exact same components (auber syl 2362). I'm pretty sure I have everything wired up correctly as everything is working, except maybe the PID.

I did a test run last night. I had it set up to heat and hold at 130F but the PID won't turn off the water element heater. It stayed on.

What am I doing wrong? Do I need to program the PID? How do I set the target temp?
__________________
Primary 1: pale ale
Primary 2: blondie


My mid-century modern keezer build thread.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 10:16 PM   #2
iijakii
 
iijakii's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jun 2010
Portland-ish, OR
Posts: 6,013
Liked 1793 Times on 1121 Posts


How do you have the PID-SSR-Element wired up?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 05:03 PM   #3
audger
Recipes 
 
Apr 2011
., Connecticut
Posts: 1,497
Liked 43 Times on 42 Posts


Quote:
What am I doing wrong? Do I need to program the PID? How do I set the target temp?
yes you do need to program it. you need to set the PID values in order for the controller to be able to function. otherwise its just an expensive, hard to use, switch.

i dont have that particular PID, but these settings should help a little (these are just an example, the thermodynamic properties of my system are most likely different from yours and you should tweak them as necessary)...

p= 1 to 5 (%), depends on the temp sensor type / range of the sensor
i= 20 to 40 (seconds)
d=0 (disabled; with a large stable thermal mass, overshoot compensation is unnecessary)
ot=2 (seconds; use '2' for SSR, longer for mechanical contactor/relay to prevent short cycling)
filt= try 1, if you want faster response, change to zero

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 08:20 PM   #4
stlbeer
Senior Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
stlbeer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jan 2008
Fenton, MO
Posts: 979
Liked 40 Times on 39 Posts


Don't forget you also need to set the PID for the temp probe you're using and it could also be set by default for *C instead of *F.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 10:23 PM   #5
A4J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
A4J's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Mar 2008
the Desert, CA
Posts: 1,348
Liked 30 Times on 25 Posts


Thanks everyone.

The problem was actually in my wiring. I connected an extra hot wire where I shouldn't have and so the power was always on.

It's working now but I still need program the PID.

Thanks again.
__________________
Primary 1: pale ale
Primary 2: blondie


My mid-century modern keezer build thread.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 11:45 PM   #6
aquenne
Recipes 
 
Oct 2011
Paris, Ontario
Posts: 226
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts


before you start playing with the actual P, I & D gain terms, most controllers have an autotune mode.

This should give you a good inital starting point, and for the average joe this should be sufficient. Then u can cycle thru the autotune P,I and D values and make tweaks if you are interested in it.

PID Tutorial

russki Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 12:52 AM   #7
Psych
 
Psych's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Mar 2011
Kelowna, BC
Posts: 780
Liked 37 Times on 34 Posts


Yeah just run the autotune with the usual amount of water you have in a batch, it'll get it close, tweak it from there if you need to. Make sure you set the temperature probe properly though, that's a big one, but I think the default is a thermcouple. So only needed if you have an RTD.

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools



Forum Jump