Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Lambic & Wild Brewing > Berliner Weisse style with pedio (or other pedio recommendations)

Old 11-19-2011, 11:25 PM   #1
skeezerpleezer
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 28 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 555 Times on 337 Posts

Default Berliner Weisse style with pedio (or other pedio recommendations)

I am new to brewing sour beers, I made my first Flanders red a couple weeks ago. I plan to do another sour this week and rack onto that yeast cake, in hopes of a more sour beer.

I have also been pondering a Berliner Weisse style beer for awhile, leaning toward sour mashing part of it, then adding it to the rest of the mash a few days later, boiling, and fermenting. It sounds like this is a fairly quick turnaround, which is what I was wanting. I will probably still do that... any recommendations there?

Now the real point of this post. I was at Brewmasters warehouse earlier today and they had some expired Wyeast Pedio (about 11 months old) for $2.50, which I figured was worth grabbing. First question is how viable is this? I assume I should not do a starter, is this correct? I was also wondering what would happen if I did a normal (non sour mash) Berliner style with this instead of Lacto. Would it work ok? taste bad? If its not recommended, is there another way I can/should use this yeast without using lacto/Brett/etc?

thanks in advance!

Old 11-20-2011, 04:30 AM   #2
rorygilmore
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 3

I believe wyeast doesn't recommended Pedio for Berliner Weisses because it doesn't do well in a low gravity/nutrient wort. I had a friend who attempted to do a BW with pedio and it never soured, and there's a least one thread on here where someone had the same problem. (With that said, I'm sure someone has made a fantastic berliner weisse with pedio)