panel power meter - Home Brew Forums
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > panel power meter
Cool Brewing Giveaway - Supporting Membership Drive & Discount

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-16-2011, 07:55 PM   #1
canyonbrewer
Recipes 
 
Sep 2010
south carolina
Posts: 177
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts



Hi all -

Can anyone give me more detail on a power meter like this one?

http://www.electrichomebrewery.com/w...1/IMAG0244.jpg

Does it require anything else to work? Like a shunt?

Thanks!



 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 08:16 PM   #2
audger
Recipes 
 
Apr 2011
., Connecticut
Posts: 1,497
Liked 43 Times on 42 Posts


something similar

Programmable Triple Displays Digital AC Single Phase Power Watt Meter (with RS485)

spec sheet:
http://www.lightobject.info/download/file.php?id=31

"When current is lower than 5A and voltage is lower 500V,
external coupling transformer is not necessary."


so it seems that one atleast does not need an external shunt or current transformer for less than 5A or 500V.



 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 08:23 PM   #3
BigBobsBrews
Recipes 
 
Mar 2010
Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 157
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts


It looks like an Auber product but I can't find it on their website. Do you have any more info on it?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 09:25 PM   #4
Maxkling
Recipes 
 
Oct 2010
Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 554
Liked 30 Times on 17 Posts


It is not an auber product. Do a search for PID's and you will see they all look the same. Infact most come out of the same manufacturing plant for the different companies.

I'm not sure what more information you want on it. The person above you posted everything about it....
__________________
Denny Conn - “The best beer possible with the least effort possible while having the most fun possible!”

Me - "Gun Control Means Using Both Hands."

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 10:25 PM   #5
BigBobsBrews
Recipes 
 
Mar 2010
Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 157
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts


I must be blind I didn't see that second post...

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 10:53 PM   #6
canyonbrewer
Recipes 
 
Sep 2010
south carolina
Posts: 177
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts


not much...other than the guy at electrichomebrewery.com uses one

I will be putting between 7 and 30 amps through it...and wanted to know if I needed a shunt like kal uses here: Control Panel (Part 2)

thanks!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 11:51 PM   #7
rosier9
Recipes 
 
Dec 2010
Bellevue, NE
Posts: 183
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts


Programmable Triple Displays Digital AC Single Phase Power/ Watt Meter

Google is amazing
__________________
Kegged: Amarillo Ale, Edwort's Apfelwein, Golden Dragon, 1554, 888 RIS
Primary:

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 11:56 PM   #8
canyonbrewer
Recipes 
 
Sep 2010
south carolina
Posts: 177
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts


thanks rosier... believe it or not... i try not to waste the good folks time on the forums...and bing'd it before posting.

you are right the search engines are amazing...as amazing as your wit!

doesn't really answer my question though does it?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 03:45 AM   #9
jxm2119
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Oct 2009
Rochester, NY
Posts: 126
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts


I got one of these and it works well

Digital AC Power Watt Meter V I P Monitor Boat RV Ship | eBay

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 11:30 AM   #10
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Mar 2010
Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,337
Liked 300 Times on 235 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by canyonbrewer View Post
Hi all -

Can anyone give me more detail on a power meter like this one?

http://www.electrichomebrewery.com/w...1/IMAG0244.jpg

Does it require anything else to work? Like a shunt?

Thanks!
Yes a shunt is required IF - you need to monitor over 5 amps current draw and/or over 500 volts.

Take a look at the photo of the panel wiring from the same site you referenced:
http://www.electrichomebrewery.com/w...IMG_192212.jpg
There is a shunt wired in for monitoring the amps.

HTH



 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What guage wire from main panel to spa panel? AdamCanFly Electric Brewing 22 02-01-2012 03:36 AM
Step 1 - Power to the Panel - Can I tee a line? shortyjacobs Electric Brewing 8 10-20-2011 01:15 AM
Mounting spa panel guts in control panel kevink Electric Brewing 7 08-20-2011 02:31 AM
Control Panel Power Connection advice needed. IEC? Twang Electric Brewing 3 04-15-2011 04:51 PM
panel to spa panel wiring buffalobrewer Electric Brewing 4 11-29-2010 12:06 AM


Forum Jump