Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Propane Quick Disconnect?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-02-2011, 07:26 PM   #1
Apoxbrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Medford, Oregon
Posts: 539
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default Propane Quick Disconnect?

I'm starting a 3 tier sculpture build. It'll be horizontal in nature (i.e. not the tree style 3 tier), but I plan on making the 3rd tier removable to save on storage space.

That said, since the 3rd tier will have a burner for the HLT, I'm curious if there's a propane quick-disconnect that can handle the psi of the banjo burner?

Any help much appreciated. Thanks!


__________________
BrewNano - Exploring Nano-Breweries, One Interview At A Time

On Tap - The Tunguska Event, Cream Ale
On Tap - Devastated Sky, CDA
On Tap - Fallow Fields, Autumn Ale
On Tap - East Creek Sour Wheat, Sour Wheat Ale
Fermenting - Nothing :(
Apoxbrew is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 08:01 PM   #2
Shockerengr
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 455
Liked 23 Times on 20 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

are you planning to run everything from a single propane tank and just need a disconnect for the line?


Shockerengr is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 08:19 PM   #3
Apoxbrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Medford, Oregon
Posts: 539
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

yes. most will be hardline. softline to propane tank obviously and then soft line to 3rd tier with quick connect.
__________________
BrewNano - Exploring Nano-Breweries, One Interview At A Time

On Tap - The Tunguska Event, Cream Ale
On Tap - Devastated Sky, CDA
On Tap - Fallow Fields, Autumn Ale
On Tap - East Creek Sour Wheat, Sour Wheat Ale
Fermenting - Nothing :(
Apoxbrew is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 12:46 AM   #4
OneHoppyGuy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 1,704
Liked 44 Times on 36 Posts
Likes Given: 52

Default

The quick disconnect used for natural gas on barbecues will also work for propane.
OneHoppyGuy is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 12:56 AM   #5
roadymi
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Middle of the Mitten, Michigan
Posts: 814
Liked 33 Times on 31 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Default

I'm a propane service tech, I've seen disconnects at trade shows but I'm not sure where you can get one retail. I guess google is ur friend
__________________
Reality is an illusion that occurs due to the lack of alcohol.
Give a man a beer, he'll drink for the day.Teach a man to brew, he'll be drunk the rest of his life.
I have 8 carboys, 8 cornies, 5-1 gal jugs, 200 wine bottles, 10 cases of beer bottles and a nice assortment of flip tops....My goal is to keep them at least 50% occupied
roadymi is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 12:59 AM   #6
passedpawn
Waste Allocation Load Lifter - Earth Class
HBT_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
passedpawn's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: ☼ Clearwater, FL ☼
Posts: 22,341
Liked 4994 Times on 2979 Posts
Likes Given: 4171

Default

I had a QD on a ducane gas grill I used to have. I'd assume that anywhere that sells ducane would have something like that. Actually, I think ducane was bought by weber, so just try a grill store?
__________________
- Andrew
passedpawn is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 01:03 AM   #7
GNBrews
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 671
Liked 12 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

You can use normal air compressor quick disconnects. The seals in them are almost always buna-n, which is compatible with propane.
GNBrews is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 01:06 AM   #8
Chad_C
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Middletown, Maryland
Posts: 200
Liked 15 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Any reason a standard airline disconnect won't work for propane if it's after the regulator? 30psi is 30psi right? I regularly use mine above 100psi on my air compressor without problem. Just a thought, I don't know if it would be appropriate due to it being propane though?
__________________
Beer makes you feel the way you ought to feel without beer!
Chad_C is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 02:09 AM   #9
Apoxbrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Medford, Oregon
Posts: 539
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GNBrews View Post
You can use normal air compressor quick disconnects. The seals in them are almost always buna-n, which is compatible with propane.
perfect!!!


__________________
BrewNano - Exploring Nano-Breweries, One Interview At A Time

On Tap - The Tunguska Event, Cream Ale
On Tap - Devastated Sky, CDA
On Tap - Fallow Fields, Autumn Ale
On Tap - East Creek Sour Wheat, Sour Wheat Ale
Fermenting - Nothing :(
Apoxbrew is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick-Disconnect Quandary TravelingBrewer22 Equipment/Sanitation 8 03-15-2011 04:24 PM
Quick Disconnect Sources?? Bsquared Equipment/Sanitation 58 02-28-2011 02:35 PM
Another quick disconnect question dunleav1 Equipment/Sanitation 6 02-25-2009 12:21 AM
Quick Disconnect Options. wedge421 Equipment/Sanitation 2 05-13-2008 07:07 AM
Quick Disconnect on Kegerator mattreba Equipment/Sanitation 1 04-14-2008 05:29 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS