Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Water level sensor
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-30-2011, 07:58 PM   #1
rustybeer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: stillwater, mn
Posts: 17
Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts

Default Water level sensor

Hey there just checking if any of you have come up with a inexpensive sensor to control water levels , I have been looking at Pressure and ultrasonic. not too impressed with the bubble method on the brew troller. would like to here your thoughts.


rustybeer is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 01:39 AM   #2
Gfei
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Richmond VA
Posts: 249
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

i don't know, the bubbler setup looks like the best bet for accurate (and crazy cheap) volume measurement. I've got a couple pressure transducers and and 1-wire ADC's to play with when I find the time.


__________________
Chris
Damn Yankee Brewing

|Bar Build|
Gfei is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 10:15 AM   #3
eric_pwb
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Regina, Saskatchewan
Posts: 91
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rustybeer View Post
Hey there just checking if any of you have come up with a inexpensive sensor to control water levels , I have been looking at Pressure and ultrasonic. not too impressed with the bubble method on the brew troller. would like to here your thoughts.
There is an alternative method to the bubbler for the BrewTroller, but you would have to be electrically heating (with an element installed through the side of the vessel); It can be seen here.

I have used it, and it does work, it just has a tendency for a small amount of liquid to find its way into the tubing.
eric_pwb is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 07:19 PM   #4
lschiavo
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
lschiavo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Surrounded by Yoopers
Posts: 4,285
Liked 916 Times on 611 Posts
Likes Given: 698

Default

I have these in my HLT. http://www.grainger.com/Grainger/MAD...&cm_vc=IDPRRZ1
lschiavo is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 12:14 PM   #5
rustybeer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: stillwater, mn
Posts: 17
Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Yep a float sensor would work. I'm doing a 16 gallon keg setup so I want to have the options to do differnt size batches.Their has to be someone out there using some ebay used sensors like flowline.
rustybeer is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 02:08 PM   #6
audger
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: ., Connecticut
Posts: 1,497
Liked 40 Times on 40 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

you could possibly do it only with an accurate temperature probe if you are using heating elements and are recirculating. you can accurately measure how many watts of power are going into the water, and you can calculate the rate of heat loss and thermal mass of the container.
take two temperature readings spaced x-amount of time apart. subtract the amount of heat lost during that period of time and factor in the thermal mass of the container. the amount of temperature change over time, plus the amount of energy input, will let you calculate how much water is in the container.

similar theory to volumetric measurements using the pressure readings of a gas. there are probably better ways to do it, and there are obvious downsides that can easily throw the accuracy off, but if those are accounted for then all you need are temperature readings, power consumption measurements and some math.
audger is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 03:01 PM   #7
DougyFresh04
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 11
Default

I just got this in the mail last week. I havent used it yet, but it should work and only $9 shipped.

http://www.amazon.com/Curve-Water-Se...217254&sr=8-25

:EDIT:
I know the temp rating says only 85F, but PolyPro can go much higher than that with no ill effects. I am not planing to use it in a BK just my HLT


DougyFresh04 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Level Control Sensor abraxas Electric Brewing 6 10-21-2011 09:04 PM
Sensor locations?? Rondacker Electric Brewing 1 05-29-2011 11:37 AM
Sensor Question eric_pwb Electric Brewing 3 05-23-2011 11:30 PM
PID and I2C Temperature Sensor? TriangleIL Electric Brewing 17 02-22-2011 08:49 PM
temperature sensor to 10 bit ADC cheese Electric Brewing 10 12-14-2010 06:55 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS