What's up with my Johnson a419? - Home Brew Forums
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > What's up with my Johnson a419?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-30-2011, 01:50 AM   #1
Veritas
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Veritas's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Nov 2010
State College, Pennsylvania
Posts: 156
Liked 19 Times on 18 Posts



So with this being so close to Halloween, I thought maybe I'm just having a "ghost in the machine" experience, but I thought I'd throw this one out to the community to get your opinions...

I am an all-grain brewer who has the pleasure of owning 3 (count 'em 3) fermentation chambers/lagering chambers/keezers. Each is powered by a separate Johnson a419; allowing me to digitally control each one for proper temperature maintenance for all of my brewing needs.

Until today, each a419 has worked flawlessly (all are less than a year old). I had recently unplugged one of my freezers (and the a419 attached to it) because I wasn't using it. Today, I plugged it back in to use as a lagering chamber (I'm making a Helles) and the strangest thing happened; my settings were all fine, (SP, Asd, OFS, and dif were all fine; I can share the values, but you'll soon see that this isn't the issue.) So I plug the unit in, and a few moments later, the little green light lit up on the a419 indicating that it was making the connection to the freezer... but the freezer isn't turning on. (Yes, I tried directly plugging the freezer into the wall to make sure it is working... it is.) I even swapped the a419 with one of the other freezers as a "double blind" check to isolate the issue to the controller. It doesn't work on my other freezers either.

So, any ideas? It seems to be trying to make the connection, but isn't creating the circuit to actually turn the freezer on.

Any ideas? Thanks for your help.


__________________
"He was a wise man who invented beer..."
-Plato

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 04:34 AM   #2
Hopper450
Recipes 
 
Sep 2011
Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 123
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


Loose wire in the controller??



 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 02:14 PM   #3
RoadKing
Recipes 
 
Oct 2005
Bayville, N.J.
Posts: 467
Liked 20 Times on 17 Posts


Bad plug end where freezer plugs in.
__________________
DIRTY GARAGE BREWING CO.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 02:42 PM   #4
Veritas
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Veritas's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Nov 2010
State College, Pennsylvania
Posts: 156
Liked 19 Times on 18 Posts


I did pop open the unit and everything seemed to be secure... I'll have another look. Any other suggestions?
__________________
"He was a wise man who invented beer..."
-Plato

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 02:57 PM   #5
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Mar 2010
Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,337
Liked 301 Times on 235 Posts


If you have a volt meter, use it to test and find where you are loosing the connection. First test the controller output outlet and then go back from there.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 12:59 AM   #6
Veritas
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Veritas's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Nov 2010
State College, Pennsylvania
Posts: 156
Liked 19 Times on 18 Posts


Good suggestions... I'll check the connections...
__________________
"He was a wise man who invented beer..."
-Plato

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 01:37 PM   #7
Homercidal
Licensed Sensual Massage Therapist.
HBT_MODERATOR.png
 
Homercidal's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2008
Reed City, MI
Posts: 30,353
Liked 4681 Times on 3154 Posts


Could be a bad relay. Not sure if the indicator light works off the input to the relay, or the output. If it is powered from the input to the relay, then the light might indicate that they unit is TRYING to power the fridge, but if the relay is broke, then it won't connect.

I know that when mine turn on, I can distinctly hear a clicking sound as the relay engages.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 01:43 PM   #8
rcrabb22
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
rcrabb22's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jun 2008
Illinois
Posts: 714
Liked 23 Times on 16 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Homercidal View Post
Could be a bad relay. Not sure if the indicator light works off the input to the relay, or the output. If it is powered from the input to the relay, then the light might indicate that they unit is TRYING to power the fridge, but if the relay is broke, then it won't connect.

I know that when mine turn on, I can distinctly hear a clicking sound as the relay engages.
+1 on the mechanical relay click

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2011, 01:40 AM   #9
Veritas
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Veritas's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Nov 2010
State College, Pennsylvania
Posts: 156
Liked 19 Times on 18 Posts


Well, after taking my A419 to a buddy who is an electronics genius, I discovered that the relay is fine, but something on the circuit board that regulates the amperage flow from the 110v input through the relay is fried.

Having purchased the unit from Midwest Supplies back in June, I thought I'd give them a call and see what they might do for me. The Customer Service rep who took my call was friendly, helpful, and patient as I explained my situation. He said, "Let me see what I can do... hold on a minute, please." After about 2 minutes, he came back on the line and said, "Okay, I'm sending you a new one today. I'll put a RA form in the box, just send the busted one back when you get a chance." According to FedEx, my new A419 will arrive day after tomorrow. Talk about great customer service! So kudos to Midwest Supplies!!
__________________
"He was a wise man who invented beer..."
-Plato

Hackwood Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 01:17 AM   #10
KCBigDog
Recipes 
 
Apr 2011
Elgin, IL
Posts: 318
Liked 2 Times on 1 Posts


Mine is doing the same thing. It worked fine for a little over a year, and now the green light comes on but the keezer doesn't get power. I have verified that the keezer is fine, as it powers on when plugged into the wall.



 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Johnson A419 Help SeanS86 Equipment/Sanitation 11 03-16-2011 10:37 PM
Johnson A419 temp controller Semper Equipment/Sanitation 8 02-26-2011 12:17 AM
Johnson A419 pre-wired? BrettV Equipment/Sanitation 4 06-30-2010 09:35 PM
Johnson Controls A419 Probe Dan2539 Equipment/Sanitation 1 12-07-2009 09:02 AM
Johnson Controls A419: Big Difference? piperbrew Equipment/Sanitation 6 08-05-2009 07:24 PM


Forum Jump