Ss Brewtech’s Biggest Baddest Holiday Giveaway Ever!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > Do I need to change the amount of hops
Thread Tools
Old 10-26-2011, 11:05 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Rancho Cordova, CA
Posts: 523
Liked 33 Times on 29 Posts
Likes Given: 23

Default Do I need to change the amount of hops

I have been doing partial boils to brew my beer, I now have a large enough brew pot to do a full boil. Will I need to reduce the amount of hops I use to achieve the same results?

Waynep005 is offline
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2011, 11:13 PM   #2
/bɪər nɜrd/
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
MalFet's Avatar
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NYC / Kathmandu
Posts: 8,546
Liked 1429 Times on 948 Posts
Likes Given: 690


Yup. If I recall correctly, I needed to nudge my hops down by about ten percent when I went from a 4gallon boil to a 7gallon.
"Be excellent to each other." -Benjamin Franklin
MalFet is online now
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2011, 01:00 AM   #3
Senior Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ajf's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Long Island
Posts: 4,646
Liked 104 Times on 98 Posts
Likes Given: 39


I think there is a lot of misinformation on this subject. may shed some light in this apparent misinformation.

There are only 10 types of people in this world. Those that understand binary, and those that don't.
ajf is offline
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Would you change anything in this ipa? sourmilk413 Recipes/Ingredients 2 10-01-2011 11:32 PM
Small Amount of Fresh Hops Recipe Help GarrettLaneBC Recipes/Ingredients 1 09-24-2010 10:08 PM
How to determine the amount of hops for the flavor addition Pisty_Pete Recipes/Ingredients 1 04-14-2010 04:29 PM
Hops Scare IPA kit change PaintAddict Recipes/Ingredients 1 01-03-2010 01:21 AM
Short Notice Recipe/Ingredients Change (Yeast, Hops) EinGutesBier Recipes/Ingredients 0 02-25-2009 01:59 AM

Forum Jump

Newest Threads