How to connect spa panel to full breaker box? - Home Brew Forums
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > How to connect spa panel to full breaker box?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-25-2011, 07:34 PM   #1
bigljd
Recipes 
 
Oct 2010
Sacramento, CA
Posts: 411
Liked 24 Times on 19 Posts



Below is a pic of my breaker box - obviously there is not room for adding another breaker. Is there some way to connect a spa panel directly to this breaker panel?

In a previous thread I talked about running an extension cable from the laundry room (dryer outlet) to my brew shed. I realized that if I could tie the spa panel straight into the breaker panel and plug a 10/4 cable into the spa panel, it would greatly reduce the length of extension cable required to reach the brew shed. When not in use, the 10/4 cable would be rolled up and the spa panel breaker would be turned off.

This is something I'd have an electrician do (if it's possible to do). I'm reasonably knowledgeable when it comes to smaller electrical projects, but have little experience with 240v and home wiring projects. I'm not comfortable poking around in breaker panels, even with the main breaker off.


My full breaker box


Utility room where breaker box lives, and my brew shed in the background.



 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 07:41 PM   #2
cfonnes
Recipes 
 
Jun 2010
Utah
Posts: 929
Liked 64 Times on 49 Posts


I just hooked up a hot tub extension where I had the same problem, no breaker room.

I pulled the front panel (around the breakers) off. I was able to hook the wires to the backplane underneath the lowest breaker.

Be sure to run the correct size wire for the breaker that you are going to use. A spa breaker is 50A GFCI and requires 6 AWG wire.



 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 08:31 PM   #3
PLOVE
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
PLOVE's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Aug 2011
Colton, OR
Posts: 477
Liked 40 Times on 38 Posts


Just curious. Have you ever pulled the front cover off the panel? You might be surprised to find that not all breakers aren't live (i.e. wired up to a house circuit). I had a similar deal and was able to move some things around to make room for a 50A double-breaker.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 08:42 PM   #4
bigljd
Recipes 
 
Oct 2010
Sacramento, CA
Posts: 411
Liked 24 Times on 19 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by PLOVE View Post
Just curious. Have you ever pulled the front cover off the panel? You might be surprised to find that not all breakers aren't live (i.e. wired up to a house circuit). I had a similar deal and was able to move some things around to make room for a 50A double-breaker.
I haven't pulled the cover off - I assumed all the breakers are in use since all of them are marked as being used on the back of the panel door. I'll have to take a peak behind the panel cover when I'm home to see if all the breakers are wired up, but for now I'm thinking they are all being used.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 08:45 PM   #5
PLOVE
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
PLOVE's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Aug 2011
Colton, OR
Posts: 477
Liked 40 Times on 38 Posts


Only way to be sure is to pull the cover (or start flipping breakers and see if one fails to turn off anything obvious). I think I'd vote for option #1.

When popped the cover on my panel nearly 30% of "ON" breakers were unwired. Basically the previous owner must have decided it was cheaper to install breakers than blanks. . . go figure. The 50A I used was basically a freebie. . . Lucky me I guess.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 09:12 PM   #6
redman67
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
redman67's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2010
Taunton, MA
Posts: 428
Liked 22 Times on 19 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by cfonnes View Post
I just hooked up a hot tub extension where I had the same problem, no breaker room.

I pulled the front panel (around the breakers) off. I was able to hook the wires to the backplane underneath the lowest breaker.

Be sure to run the correct size wire for the breaker that you are going to use. A spa breaker is 50A GFCI and requires 6 AWG wire.
Not to be a downer or anything, but this is a VERY bad idea. Not only are you overloading your breaker panel but you are also risking your life and property

If there is a fault in your line to your spa panel you have NO protection what so ever and the panel will feed the fault endlessly
and if your house burns down the insurance company WILL NOT pay the claim
__________________
Because God hates it when you drink bad beer

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 09:47 PM   #7
sdugre
Recipes 
 
Jan 2011
Holyoke, MA
Posts: 76

What I would do is swap out four single pole breakers for two tandem breakers. This is what they look like:

http://www.google.com/products/catal...wAg#ps-sellers

That will free up enough space for a two pole breaker for your spa panel.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 10:12 PM   #8
bigljd
Recipes 
 
Oct 2010
Sacramento, CA
Posts: 411
Liked 24 Times on 19 Posts


Here's a naked view of the panel, with all her private parts on display. She's definitely in full use.



The 5 lower breakers on the right are all 15 amp, so it sounds promising that I could swap out 4 of those for the 2 tandem 15 amp breakers, and then throw in a 50 amp 240 breaker at the bottom. I forgot/didn't know that the tandem breakers existed.

I think this is a viable solution on how to power my electric brewery (unless someone jumps in and tells me otherwise). I've already put together a parts list for a control panel (based on a PJ design), so now I have some incentive to start building it.

Thanks for the input!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 11:32 PM   #9
Bsquared
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Bsquared's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Oct 2006
San Diego
Posts: 1,850
Liked 66 Times on 59 Posts


what is your service coming in? 200amp?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2011, 01:13 AM   #10
bigljd
Recipes 
 
Oct 2010
Sacramento, CA
Posts: 411
Liked 24 Times on 19 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bsquared View Post
what is your service coming in? 200amp?
The main breaker is 150 amp - it's a pretty small house (1100 sq ft), so they didn't wire it with a lot of juice.



 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mounting spa panel guts in control panel kevink Electric Brewing 7 08-20-2011 02:31 AM
GE Spa Panel Breaker sdugre Electric Brewing 9 07-18-2011 07:22 PM
Running a sub panel with a full breaker box ChrisMichels Electric Brewing 7 05-12-2011 07:52 PM
Panel GFCI Breaker IrregularPulse Electric Brewing 13 03-23-2011 08:43 PM
Take a Look at my Breaker Panel... ScubaSteve Electric Brewing 21 02-08-2011 07:42 PM


Forum Jump