Hop spider woes solved! In stainless! - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Kettles, Mash Tuns & Hot Liquor Tanks > Hop spider woes solved! In stainless!

Old 10-12-2011, 10:51 PM   #1
jeffdietzler
Recipes 

Jun 2010
Riverside, California
Liked 5 Times on 2 Posts

Back when I started brewing, I used hop "socks" for my hop additions and had a little trouble fishing them out at the end of the brewing session. Nothing major, but I thought to myself, "There has to be a better way..."

And then I found build threads for hop spiders. I made one with a PVC coupling like many here and it worked perfectly... Until it started raining mid- brewing session. I put the lid on the pot and waited for my bittering hops minutes to run out. When I removed the lid I found this:

My spider had melted!?! I tried turning it upside down for the aroma hops period, but it didn’t straighten itself back out. What to do? Back to the socks?

A few weeks pass and I’m wandering around Lowe’s looking for things that could be incorporated into my “brewery” and I found a solution: the stainless drain for a garbage disposal. Cost - $15 or so. And it even has a lip to help hold the hose clamp on!

So now I have an all stainless hop spider:

And all is right with the world again…

Edit: found a link to the garbage disposal flange for those who are interested.

http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1...atalogId=10053

Reason: added link to flange

People Like This 
Old 10-12-2011, 11:13 PM   #2
CGVT
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Jun 2011
Spanish Fort, AL
Liked 708 Times on 426 Posts

Nice!
"Filled with mingled cream and amber I will drain that glass again. Such hilarious visions clamber through the chambers of my brain--Quaintest thoughts--queerest fancies come to life and fade away; Who cares how time advances? I am drinking ale today"-Edgar Alan Poe

My Keezer build: http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f51/keez...y-turn-340755/

Quote: