120v 5 gal questions - Page 2 - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > 120v 5 gal questions

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-04-2011, 04:30 PM   #11
gsector
Recipes 
 
Aug 2011
Posts: 41
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


Depending on where the panel is located and where you want the outlet, could be very easy. 6000W/240V = 25amps, So if you get at least a 30 amp breaker, you should be able to run both. But, you could add a 40 amp and be more than okay

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 04:43 PM   #12
movet22
 
movet22's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2011
Haddon Heights, NJ
Posts: 208
Liked 18 Times on 10 Posts


Here are a few images of my breaker in my basement near where I will be brewing. I haven't much of a clue as to what I am looking at, but I was hoping that by seeing this, I may be able to get some more advice in terms of an electric build. Thanks!

http:[email protected]/6211147171/

http:[email protected]/6211146699/


 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 04:50 PM   #13
LordUlrich
Recipes 
 
Dec 2010
Rochester, MN
Posts: 540
Liked 12 Times on 11 Posts


I recently built a 2000W boil kettle for my 5 gallon batches, even without insulation it held a boil just fine. I have it plugged into a 20 amp GFCI outlet (20 amp outlet one of the sides is actually T shaped, GFCI is the kind with the buttons in the middle).
I am in a similar situation (hoping to relocate soon) this solution seemed best to me, with a plan to retrofit when i get a more permanent solution.
__________________
Don't take any more faith in anything I say than you would anyone else on the internet. If you listen to what I say, then hurt your self or break something it is your own fault, I am just expressing my opinion or experience.
THINK for your self!!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 05:39 PM   #14
movet22
 
movet22's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2011
Haddon Heights, NJ
Posts: 208
Liked 18 Times on 10 Posts


Ah, LU, just the input I was looking for! so what do you do your boils in? keggle? stock pot (how many qts?)? What volume boils are you doing? Thanks for your help!!!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 09:21 PM   #15
Lucky_Chicken
 
Lucky_Chicken's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jul 2011
Bloomfield, IA
Posts: 795
Liked 37 Times on 27 Posts


it looks like your breaker box is packed! are there any openings at the bottom? (places for breakers without anything except for the knockout in them)

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 09:45 PM   #16
LordUlrich
Recipes 
 
Dec 2010
Rochester, MN
Posts: 540
Liked 12 Times on 11 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by movet22 View Post
Ah, LU, just the input I was looking for! so what do you do your boils in? keggle? stock pot (how many qts?)? What volume boils are you doing? Thanks for your help!!!
I use a converted keg, but any pot with adequate volume should be fine. I start at about 7.5 gallons above my valve and boil down to about 5 above the valve. I do have about 1 gallon below the valve which I dump. I do intend to insulate my kettle (to reduce time to boil) but what I have works for the time being.
__________________
Don't take any more faith in anything I say than you would anyone else on the internet. If you listen to what I say, then hurt your self or break something it is your own fault, I am just expressing my opinion or experience.
THINK for your self!!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 02:20 AM   #17
movet22
 
movet22's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2011
Haddon Heights, NJ
Posts: 208
Liked 18 Times on 10 Posts


@jtsims: yes, I have 3 rectangles without any breakers in them. Going 240v is a last option. I will try every which way to make 120v work.

@lu: great info! thanks for the input, I feel confident that I can get a 6.5-7.5 gal load boiling with a 2000w 120v element, which is super exciting!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 02:30 AM   #18
malador
Recipes 
 
Apr 2010
Oregon
Posts: 167
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by movet22 View Post
Ok, so lets go hypothetical...

say, by the grace of god, I am allowed to add a 240v breaker-- Is that easy for someone who is moderately handy (def competent, but electricity makes my head swim sometimes), how much is it going to effect my power bill, can I run a 3000w HLT (((AND))) a 3000w BK at the same time, on the same line?
A 240vac wouldn't affect your bill any more than a 120 circuit will. A watt is a Watt, no matter what the voltage is.

That being said, i wouldn't recommend adding the outlet without someone to help. It's really pretty easy to do, but you have the potential (pun intended) to hurt yourself or cause major damage. If you want though, lots of us could walk you through it.


 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 02:34 AM   #19
movet22
 
movet22's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2011
Haddon Heights, NJ
Posts: 208
Liked 18 Times on 10 Posts


I am hoping to only go 240v as a last resort. I'm def going to give a 2000w element a shot on 120v first.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 02:44 AM   #20
nothreat
Recipes 
 
Dec 2008
Indiana
Posts: 63
Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts


I do 5 gallon AG boils with a standard 1500 W water heater element. I mounted it in my brew pot. I wouldn't call it a violent boil like with gas, but it is a steady rolling boil that I think is fine. I have done about 20 batches with it and they have all turned out fine.
__________________
Nothreat
Primary: None
Secondary: None
On Deck: Amarillo Wheat, Summit Rye, Basic Pale with Zythos hops, Chocolate PB Porter II
Kegged: Delta pale, Chinook Pale
Bottled: Coconut Porter, Chocolate PB Porter, American Stout, Honey Walnut Porter

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can someone help with 120v? agezzi Electric Brewing 58 08-15-2011 11:12 AM
120v Electric 5 gal Brewery wh4tig0t Electric Brewing 13 04-08-2011 03:41 PM
120v on 220v element? hatrickwah Electric Brewing 34 03-07-2011 09:14 PM
120V wiring help magnj Electric Brewing 1 02-20-2011 09:19 PM
120v Switches CoalCracker Electric Brewing 7 10-15-2010 08:53 PM


Forum Jump