Coldbreak Brewing Giveaway - Winners Drawn!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > 240V 50A Outlet Installed
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-19-2011, 12:02 AM   #1
SeattleMatt
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: bothell, washington
Posts: 55
Default 240V 50A Outlet Installed

I just installed a 50A 240V receptacle (RV outlet). No one ever told me that it would be a major PITA to work with 6 AWG wire.

Anyway, I installed a GFCI breaker. The instructions say to test it every month. would it wear out sooner if I tested once a week? My thoughts are, only turn on the breaker when I'm going to brew. After brewing, I'd test it and shut it off. I don't think I'll be brewing once a week but I'm just using that as the worst (best) case scenario... I wish I could brew once a week.

I just ordered my controller, SSR and RTD. I can't wait to give it a try.


SeattleMatt is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 12:12 AM   #2
Airplanedoc
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
Airplanedoc's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Illinois, Outside the peoples Republic of Madigan
Posts: 1,913
Liked 392 Times on 271 Posts
Likes Given: 117

Default

I have been running one on my hot tub for 5 years, and I don't think it had been tested since I installed it.

If you test it will trip and you will have to reset the breaker. Kind of a PITA in my opinion.


Airplanedoc is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 12:20 AM   #3
passedpawn
Waste Allocation Load Lifter - Earth Class
HBT_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
passedpawn's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: ☼ Clearwater, FL ☼
Posts: 21,756
Liked 4693 Times on 2805 Posts
Likes Given: 3962

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Airplanedoc View Post
I have been running one on my hot tub for 5 years, and I don't think it had been tested since I installed it.

If you test it will trip and you will have to reset the breaker. Kind of a PITA in my opinion.
Please explain how resetting a GFCI is a PITA. I can't imagine anything simpler, but maybe I'm missing something.
__________________
- Andrew
passedpawn is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 12:23 AM   #4
Cimerian
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hillsboro, TN
Posts: 282
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Try playing with #1 wire if you think 6 is bad. It is recommended that you cycle the breakers in your house once a year but who does that? But really I would turn it on test it then use it rather than test it after you are done using it.
Cimerian is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 12:26 AM   #5
Airplanedoc
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
Airplanedoc's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Illinois, Outside the peoples Republic of Madigan
Posts: 1,913
Liked 392 Times on 271 Posts
Likes Given: 117

Default

He said he installed a ground fault breaker not a outlet. The outlets push to reset at the outlet. The breaker you have to go to the breaker box, somewhere else and reset it. My breaker box is on the other side of the house and not the easiest to get to.
Airplanedoc is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 01:37 AM   #6
SeattleMatt
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: bothell, washington
Posts: 55
Default

My outlet is only 2 feet away from the panel. It's really no trouble to turn off the breaker or test it. I was just wondering if turning it on/off (or testing) once a week would wear it out and cause it to stop working properly.

My other thought is just to leave it on and buy a cover for my outlet. I don't want to rely on GFCI as the only means of protection. My wife, dog and future children are more important than brewing.
SeattleMatt is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 02:54 AM   #7
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,335
Liked 292 Times on 229 Posts
Likes Given: 495

Default

IMHO there is absolutely no problem in tripping the GFCI breaker. My design for an E-Stop circuit on the brew panel does just that. The breaker should be just fine with this process.

P-J
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 04:26 AM   #8
SeattleMatt
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: bothell, washington
Posts: 55
Default

Thanks P-J

I've seen your schematic with the e-stop shunting a small current to ground. I just assumed you would rarely use the e-stop.

I'll turn off the breaker between brews to keep things safe... those 50 amp receptacles have large openings.


SeattleMatt is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
240v Outlet Placement jhollist Electric Brewing 2 06-21-2011 04:38 PM
how big is the installed element? kappclark Electric Brewing 3 03-20-2011 09:21 PM
How much power is available at the outlet? SenorWanderer Electric Brewing 9 02-08-2011 04:57 AM
Strange issue with 240v legs. 120v on both, no 240v Brewmoor Electric Brewing 5 12-03-2010 07:15 PM
Laundry Outlet? ZWood15 Electric Brewing 13 10-19-2010 04:53 AM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS