Remote probe thermometer wort proofing - Page 2 - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Remote probe thermometer wort proofing

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-16-2007, 04:33 PM   #11
jerly
Recipes 
 
Feb 2006
Posts: 166

I want to do this to my thermometer. Will the keg lube not cause the thermometer to read wrong if it gets on the braided wire?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2007, 04:56 PM   #12
Bobby_M
Vendor and Brewer
HBT_SPONSOR.png
 
Bobby_M's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Aug 2006
Whitehouse Station, NJ
Posts: 23,339
Liked 1767 Times on 1124 Posts


There's no reason to suspect keg lube will interfere with the probe because I don't think it's electrically conductive. Even if it is, it's not as likely to run down into the probe either.
__________________
Welcome to BrewHardware.com. I love you.
New Stirplates are IN!
Chugger Pumps, Pump Kits, Camlocks, Sightglasses, Clear USA made Silicone Tubing, RIMS, Electric Install Parts, etc.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2007, 05:11 PM   #13
jerly
Recipes 
 
Feb 2006
Posts: 166

Thanks. I'm going to the store to pick up the tubing in about an hour, and going to start my brew day right after. Hoping to be able to use it today.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 08:02 PM   #14
e lo
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
e lo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2007
College Park, GA
Posts: 527
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts


Oops! Wish I had seen this a couple of weeks ago before I fried that exact thermometer by tossing the probe in my MLT to monitor my mash...

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2008, 07:07 PM   #15
farmbrewernw
 
farmbrewernw's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jan 2008
Richland, WA
Posts: 1,574
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts


I just fried a sunbeam thermo like 15min ago wish I would have read this thread first I guess I Have learned my lesson every time I try out new equipment I should search for it on HBT.
__________________
Schlonghammer Ales
It well...it tastes.......more fuller
_________________________
I'm working as a pro now, but that doesn't mean I'm not still homebrewing. I'm going to see if I can homebrew at work as a way to develop new recipes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zymurgrafi
wow, tha more I drink, tha more cohernet you all are!
and stufffff.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2008, 07:37 PM   #16
jds
 
jds's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Oct 2007
Littleton, CO
Posts: 1,913
Liked 23 Times on 18 Posts


Those probes my not be fried. Try baking the lead and probe (NOT the plastic connector) in the oven for 20-30 minutes at 350. This has revived my probe a couple of times. I just toss the lead in the oven, shut the door so the plastic connector is on the outside, and bake away.

Afterward, I check my temperatures against icewater and boiling water to make sure it's at least good on those two points.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2008, 07:51 PM   #17
GeorgeH
 
GeorgeH's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jan 2008
Canton, MI
Posts: 150
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts


+1 what jds says, I fixed mine after reading about baking the probe. Then I bought a regular thermometer from my LHBS so I wouldn't have to do it again.
__________________
Primary: Nearly Nirvana Pale Ale
Secondary: Needs cleaning
Kegged: Graff, Web Interaction Wit, Edmund Fitz clone Porter, AHS's Pliny the Elder clone
Bottled: Holiday Ale

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2008, 08:17 PM   #18
e lo
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
e lo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2007
College Park, GA
Posts: 527
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts


Yeah, I've heard that works. I pitched the first one and bought another of the same basic type before I'd heard about it, though. The cable on the new one was rubberized and waterproof, so I put some shrinkwrap tubing around the junction between the probe and cable. Stands up fine to being submerged now!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2008, 09:01 PM   #19
blacklab
Registered User
 
blacklab's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Nov 2007
Portland, ME
Posts: 2,391
Liked 48 Times on 27 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by e lo
Oops! Wish I had seen this a couple of weeks ago before I fried that exact thermometer by tossing the probe in my MLT to monitor my mash...
two times...I now have an expensive kitchen timer.

EDIT - just read the jds post and will now try to revive it.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2008, 03:12 PM   #20
Rhys79
Recipes 
 
Apr 2008
South Bend, Indiana
Posts: 159

Wish I'd seen this before I destroyed the EXACT same thermometer on my first batch of HB. Problem is, not only did it ruin the probe, but the thermo's electronics don't work right now either, even with a new probe. My only problem is, I picked up a replacement, but this really isn't an option, as I use it as a meat probe for cooking as well. Guess I just have to be carefull with mine.

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What Brand Of Remote Dual Sensor Smoker Thermometer Do You Have? HenryHill Cooking & Pairing 5 08-06-2009 05:01 PM
Wireless, Remote Thermometer - do they exist? maztec Equipment/Sanitation 8 05-09-2009 09:51 PM
Remote thermometer score!! mrk305 Equipment/Sanitation 2 07-01-2008 11:18 PM
Remote Thermometer on WOOT! Evan! Equipment/Sanitation 8 04-25-2007 08:01 PM
Gotta Get Gadget: Remote Temperature Probe treehouse Equipment/Sanitation 12 02-21-2007 03:54 PM


Forum Jump