Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Remote probe thermometer wort proofing
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-08-2010, 01:56 PM   #121
Bobby_M
Vendor and Brewer
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
 
Bobby_M's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Whitehouse Station, NJ
Posts: 22,824
Liked 1340 Times on 878 Posts
Likes Given: 35

Default

Bring the probe with you and you want the oring that fits over the probe snugly.


__________________
Welcome to BrewHardware.com. I love you.
New 100% Stainless Steel Heating Elements are IN! ULWD 5500w Ripple, 2000w, 1500w, etc
Chugger Pumps, Pump Kits, Camlocks, Sightglasses, Clear USA made Silicone Tubing, RIMS, Electric Install Parts, etc.
Bobby_M is online now
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2010, 01:20 PM   #122
400d
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 584
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

hey guys, if I buy this:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...#ht_4350wt_911

can I use silicone to make these sensors water proof?

I have a little hole in the lid of my mash tun picnic cooler, and by now I used kitchen thermometer with a probe that I just put through the hole directly into the mash.

it worked fine but got crazy (reading way off), I suppose because condensed water got through the fine mesh...

now I would like to use this one from the link... what do you think?


__________________
Brew me a river...
400d is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2010, 02:49 PM   #123
Bobby_M
Vendor and Brewer
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
 
Bobby_M's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Whitehouse Station, NJ
Posts: 22,824
Liked 1340 Times on 878 Posts
Likes Given: 35

Default

I think you'd need to first insert the ends into a piece of copper tubing and seal an end off first.
__________________
Welcome to BrewHardware.com. I love you.
New 100% Stainless Steel Heating Elements are IN! ULWD 5500w Ripple, 2000w, 1500w, etc
Chugger Pumps, Pump Kits, Camlocks, Sightglasses, Clear USA made Silicone Tubing, RIMS, Electric Install Parts, etc.
Bobby_M is online now
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2010, 06:02 PM   #124
400d
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 584
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobby_M View Post
I think you'd need to first insert the ends into a piece of copper tubing and seal an end off first.

but why? if I just insert this sensor into a silicon tubing that is sealed in both ends, I don't see a reason for copper tubing...

maybe I'm just ignorant, so please elaborate!
__________________
Brew me a river...
400d is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2010, 06:18 PM   #125
springer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
springer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Wappingers falls NY
Posts: 4,993
Liked 23 Times on 21 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 400d View Post
but why? if I just insert this sensor into a silicon tubing that is sealed in both ends, I don't see a reason for copper tubing...

maybe I'm just ignorant, so please elaborate!
copper will conduct the heat the silicone tubing will insulate the probe.
__________________
'The taxpayer: That's someone who works for the federal government but doesn't have to take the civil service examination.'- Ronald Reagan
springer is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2010, 06:49 PM   #126
400d
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 584
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by springer View Post
copper will conduct the heat the silicone tubing will insulate the probe.
cmon, but silicone would have insulate the probe in the first post of this thread!


this guy just inserted the probe inside the silicone tubing....
__________________
Brew me a river...
400d is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2010, 08:37 PM   #127
springer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
springer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Wappingers falls NY
Posts: 4,993
Liked 23 Times on 21 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 400d View Post
cmon, but silicone would have insulate the probe in the first post of this thread!


this guy just inserted the probe inside the silicone tubing....
No its not you are only waterproofing the lead not the sensor . These thermos will stop working if the wire that goes to the Stainless steel insertion probe gets wet . The Tip of the probe itself is waterproof

as you can see here the tip is left as it was and the wire lead is in the silicone '



__________________
'The taxpayer: That's someone who works for the federal government but doesn't have to take the civil service examination.'- Ronald Reagan
springer is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2010, 08:46 PM   #128
ShortSnoutBrewing
Kwanesum Chinook Illahee
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ShortSnoutBrewing's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,266
Liked 18 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

You could avoid all the DIY stuff all together and just get a waterproof K Sensor... http://www.thermoworks.com/products/probe/tc_wire.html About 5 or 6 probes down.
ShortSnoutBrewing is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 06:52 PM   #129
Hoppy_Chulo
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Austin, Tx.
Posts: 46
Likes Given: 6

Default

I just used 1/4 air line that u use for fish tanks. Then I stuck the line in some olive oil and sucked it through the line. Then after I got it all through, I blew the excess back out. Inserted the probe and slid right on. Then I used small zip ties to seal it. I learned the hard way of just putting the lube on just the probe after having to cut the hose a couple of times.
Hoppy_Chulo is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 07:25 PM   #130
Bobby_M
Vendor and Brewer
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
 
Bobby_M's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Whitehouse Station, NJ
Posts: 22,824
Liked 1340 Times on 878 Posts
Likes Given: 35

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kilted Brewer View Post
You could avoid all the DIY stuff all together and just get a waterproof K Sensor... http://www.thermoworks.com/products/probe/tc_wire.html About 5 or 6 probes down.
First, avoid DIY stuff? Blasphemy. DIY is at the core of my homebrew hobby enjoyment.

Second, that waterproof probe is $30 which is twice the price of the thermo in question.


__________________
Welcome to BrewHardware.com. I love you.
New 100% Stainless Steel Heating Elements are IN! ULWD 5500w Ripple, 2000w, 1500w, etc
Chugger Pumps, Pump Kits, Camlocks, Sightglasses, Clear USA made Silicone Tubing, RIMS, Electric Install Parts, etc.
Bobby_M is online now
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What Brand Of Remote Dual Sensor Smoker Thermometer Do You Have? HenryHill Cooking & Pairing 5 08-06-2009 05:01 PM
Wireless, Remote Thermometer - do they exist? maztec Equipment/Sanitation 8 05-09-2009 09:51 PM
Remote thermometer score!! mrk305 Equipment/Sanitation 2 07-01-2008 11:18 PM
Remote Thermometer on WOOT! Evan! Equipment/Sanitation 8 04-25-2007 08:01 PM
Gotta Get Gadget: Remote Temperature Probe treehouse Equipment/Sanitation 12 02-21-2007 03:54 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS