Keg Connection New Inline Flow Control Valve Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Mead Forum > Newbie Looking for Good Recipes
Old 09-08-2011, 08:03 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default Newbie Looking for Good Recipes

Hey yall, I'm new to homebrewing something to just pass the time I guess, right now in the works I have a 15 litre batch of maple blue agave wine, just out of spontaneity, but anyways, I'm looking for some good recipes for mead right now. On my mind I'm thinking coffee mead at the moment, I just tested a cold brew recipe from the net that turned out nicely. The only mead I've made was an orange melomel, it wasn't great, but decent. Any recent recipes anyone would like to share that have turned out well?

Old 09-08-2011, 11:45 AM   #2
Liked 174 Times on 132 Posts
Likes Given: 73

There are loads of recipes in the recipe database.

I think my easiest recipe that I make every year is my Simple Cyser. 5 gal of fresh cider, 1 gal of honey, yeast, staggered nutrient additions. I let it clear right in primary, and bottle directly from there...usually clears in 3-4 months. For yeast, I've used Wyeast Dry Mead, and 71B (I think I like the Wyeast a little better, but the 71B from last year is still aging out, and I'm talking a marginal preference, which could easily be because the 71B version is still young.) This year I'm going to try it with the White Labs Dry English Cider strain that I used on my cider, and really, really liked.
Packaged: Dry's been a crazy summer...
Recent Meads: Simple Cyser '14
Primary: Empty!
Secondary: Why do I keep this line here...?
Bulk Aging: Cocobochet, Wild Cider
Planned: Some sort of SMaSH. Otherwise, so many ideas, not enough time to brew them....
Old 09-09-2011, 12:42 AM   #3
3 Dog Brew
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 3