Coldbreak Brewing HERMS Giveaway!

HomeBrewSupply AMCYL Brew Kettle Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Planned AG Build...

Old 09-06-2011, 03:22 PM   #1
bigirishape
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default Planned AG Build...

I'm looking to do my first all-grain batch soon, but first, I wanted to get my estimated build critiqued. I usually tend to overkill things, so if I'm doing so, please call me on it and any advice on how to better do a part of the build, or a location for parts, or a cheaper alternative would be most welcome.

Also, I am a complete AG newbie. Still learning all of the terminology and requirements and calculations, so please bear with me.

HLT = 15.5g keggle w/ weldless fittings for spigot, sight gauge and thermometer
Already have keg and top cut, holes predrilled in bottom rim. Just need to determine if I need weldless fittings for the spigot, gauge and thermo...and if so, where to get them from.
Plan is to have this on a makeshift tower setup, using gravity to feed the juice to where it needs to go. This will be on top w/ a propane burner.

MT = large rectangular cooler w/ weldless spigot and copper manifold or steel-braided pipe
I've been reading about the differences in batch and fly sparging, and which ones yield greater efficiency and which technique is best for which hardware...and I have yet to see a true winner. This may just be due to my inexperience in AG brewing, and not having made my mind up to method yet.
The "DIY Overkiller" in me wants to get a 62qt cooler with a large latticed copper manifold, drilled and filtered. Would be set below and to the side of the HLT.

BK = 15.5g keggle w/ weldless fittings for spigot, sight gauge and thermometer
Much the same as the HLT, just lower.

Chiller = immersion copper coil w/ hose fittings