Coldbreak Brewing HERMS Giveaway!

HomeBrewSupply AMCYL Brew Kettle Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Do I only have one GCFI?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-03-2011, 12:52 AM   #1
iijakii
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
iijakii's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Tualatin, OR
Posts: 2,225
Liked 243 Times on 177 Posts
Likes Given: 325

Default Do I only have one GCFI?

Let me preface this with that I don't really understand anything electrical as of now!

Here's my breaker-box. http://goodluckmakingrent.com/images/breaker1.jpg and http://goodluckmakingrent.com/images/breaker2.jpg -- I don't see anything that mentions GCFI, right?

Then I have a single outlet in my bathroom that appears to be GCFI http://goodluckmakingrent.com/images/gcfioutlet.jpg . None of the kitchen outlets are like that. Is that not truly GCFI? I was under the impression that GCFI started at the breaker.

My apartment was made in the late mid or late 1980s. My dryer outlet is also 3-prong. I don't really want to go changing anything in an apartment breaker-box. Is there any cheap way to make me able to go to an electric system?

I think I just asked twenty questions. Cheers.


iijakii is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2011, 01:08 AM   #2
sapperxl
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Kemah, Texas
Posts: 94
Liked 2 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

You can have several outlets protected with one gfci. You can buy a hardwired gfci and put it in your control panel, that's what I'm doing as my house was built in the early 1980s and has no gfci protected circuits. They also make gfci protected extension cords and portable gfci boxes you can get if you don't wanna put it in the control panel, kinda pricey tho.


sapperxl is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2011, 01:30 AM   #3
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,335
Liked 292 Times on 229 Posts
Likes Given: 496

Default

It can be done. You do not have GFCI protected circuits based on the picture of your mains panel. You stated that you have a dryer outlet. With that, there is a way for you to set up your system with GFCI protection so that you would be good to go without changing any of the wiring in your apartment.

Please tell us what you are trying to achieve with your brew system.

P-J

Quote:
Originally Posted by iijakii View Post
Let me preface this with that I don't really understand anything electrical as of now!

Here's my breaker-box. http://goodluckmakingrent.com/images/breaker1.jpg and http://goodluckmakingrent.com/images/breaker2.jpg -- I don't see anything that mentions GCFI, right?

Then I have a single outlet in my bathroom that appears to be GCFI http://goodluckmakingrent.com/images/gcfioutlet.jpg . None of the kitchen outlets are like that. Is that not truly GCFI? I was under the impression that GCFI started at the breaker.

My apartment was made in the late mid or late 1980s. My dryer outlet is also 3-prong. I don't really want to go changing anything in an apartment breaker-box. Is there any cheap way to make me able to go to an electric system?

I think I just asked twenty questions. Cheers.
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2011, 01:37 AM   #4
iijakii
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
iijakii's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Tualatin, OR
Posts: 2,225
Liked 243 Times on 177 Posts
Likes Given: 325

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by P-J View Post
It can be done. You do not have GFCI protected circuits based on the picture of your mains panel. You stated that you have a dryer outlet. With that, there is a way for you to set up your system with GFCI protection so that you would be good to go without changing any of the wiring in your apartment.

Please tell us what you are trying to achieve with your brew system.

P-J
Oh, more information on the dryer outlet please. I thought that was a dead-end since it was a 3-prong and not 4-prong reciprocal.

I'm likely going to do a system very similar to JKarp's Countertop Brutus 20 but in a 5 gallon capacity. I'd definitely go that route if I can use the dryer port since I could rock a 220v element.
iijakii is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2011, 01:50 AM   #5
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,335
Liked 292 Times on 229 Posts
Likes Given: 496

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iijakii View Post
Oh, more information on the dryer outlet please. I thought that was a dead-end since it was a 3-prong and not 4-prong reciprocal.

I'm likely going to do a system very similar to JKarp's Countertop Brutus 20 but in a 5 gallon capacity. I'd definitely go that route if I can use the dryer port since I could rock a 220v element.
You can definitely use the dryer outlet and develop it into a GFCI protected 4 wire circuit for your brewery.

I'm not familiar with JKarp's system. Please tell me what you are trying to achieve with your system plan.

P-J
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2011, 04:11 AM   #6
iijakii
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
iijakii's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Tualatin, OR
Posts: 2,225
Liked 243 Times on 177 Posts
Likes Given: 325

Default

It would be a two-vessel system. Full volume mash, constant recirculation. One pump and one PID/element.
iijakii is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2011, 06:16 AM   #7
brewingmeister
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: middle of nowhere
Posts: 1,890
Liked 179 Times on 133 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Sounds like you need to build a box with a spa panel in it, tie into the dryer and go from there.

-cheers
__________________
............Alright Brain, you don't like me, and I don't like you. But lets just do this, and I can get back to killing you with beer......~Homer
brewingmeister is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2011, 10:23 AM   #8
wilserbrewer
BIAB Expert Tailor
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Feedback Score: 10 reviews
 
wilserbrewer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Jersey Shore, Jersey
Posts: 8,169
Liked 821 Times on 655 Posts
Likes Given: 15

Default

My advice would be to purchase first class air NC - TX with about a 4 day stay to fly P-J in to lend a hand...good luck with the build, your requests for information have fallen on the right ears!
wilserbrewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2011, 03:00 PM   #9
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,335
Liked 292 Times on 229 Posts
Likes Given: 496

Default

Ok. Here is a diagram for you.
As always - click on the image for a full scale diagram printable on Tabloid paper (11" x 17")



The PID, SSR, contactor and switches are all from Auber Instruments. The entire controller can be built in the project box also available at Auber Instruments.

Now for your dryer outlet and providing GFCI protection.

Go to HomeDepot and buy their GE Spa Panel - $49.00 and wire it this way:




Simply mount a 4 wire dryer outlet within the panel to provide power to your controller.

I hope this helps you.

P-J
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2011, 03:46 PM   #10
iijakii
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
iijakii's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Tualatin, OR
Posts: 2,225
Liked 243 Times on 177 Posts
Likes Given: 325

Default

You're my hero! That is fantastic. Thank you a lot for your help. I'm sure I will have many more questions when I start advancing with this project.


iijakii is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools



Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS